ISLAMABAD - COMSATS Institute of Information Technology (CIIT) held its 45th convocation and awarded graduate and post-graduate degrees to more than 600 successful students. Deputy Speaker National Assembly, Faisal Karim Kundi was the chief guest of the convocation, held here Wednesday at Convention Centre. While addressing the gathering, he appreciated the efforts of CIIT faculty, management and visionary leadership. He said CIIT, recognising its duties is committed to providing the best opportunities for learning and personal development within a caring and supportive environment. Earlier, welcoming the guests Rector CIIT Dr SM Junaid Zaidi said knowledge acquirement and higher education are transforming virtually every aspect of today’s world. He said IT institutions have been trusted to be the centre stage of academia. These institutions have the mandate to evolve a knowledge based socio-economic culture in the country to help the nation to face the modern challenges of globalisation.

Moreover, there were more than 600 students in two different ceremonies, who secured BS degrees in disciplines of Bachelor of Science in Bioinformatics, Biosciences, Business Administration, Computer Engineering, Electrical ( Telecimmunication and Computer Engineering)Electronics, Mathematics and Architecture from Islamabad Campus. MS degrees were awarded to 25 students in Management Sciences, Electrical Engineering, Architecture, Physics, Computer Science, Bio Sciences, Metrology and Mathematics.

PhD degrees were awarded to four students in disciplines of Physics and Mathematics. Besides, Chancellor’s Institute, Campus and Patron Medals were also awarded to position holding students from different campuses of CIIT. Graduate and postgraduate students bagged campus medals, institute medals and Chancellor’s gold medals with 3.75 CGPA, while patron medal was given to Madiha Tariq with 4 CGPA. Dr QK Ghori award for the best performance in Mathematics was given to Munazza Batool. The Chancellor’s gold medalists included Hafiz Muhammad Faisal Javed, Nimra Atiq Lodhi, Sajid Sarwar, Huma Hayat, Salina Shahid, Syed Awais Wahab Shah, Sufyan Hafeez Khan Zakir-ur- Rehman,Syed Meesam Raza Naqvi, Sarmad Makhdoom, Inum Arshad and Noreen Afzal, for spring session 2012.