ISLAMABAD - Islamabad became the crowned champion of the 6th Wheelchair Users Cricket Tournament 2015 after defeating Mardan by 14 runs in the final played here at Pakistan Sports Complex, Jinnah Stadium Saturday. Federal Minister Senator Musahidullah Khan graced the occasion as chief guest.

A total of eight teams participated in the event, while for the very first time in history of Pakistan wheelchair two women cricket teams also participated in the event. The biggest upset was witnessed in the league stage, when defending champions Multan crashed out at the first hurdle as they were beaten by debutants DG Khan.

Islamabad skipper after winning the toss opted to bat first in 6-overs a side final. Thanks to man of the series Sher Ali, who remained unbeaten after scoring stylish 51, Islamabad posted 89 without loss in allotted overs. Chasing a huge target, Mardan could only score 75-2. Mardan required 23 runs in the last over but could only score nine runs. Adnan remained their top scorer with 27. In the female match, B team batting first scored 28 runs in 2 overs while A team could score 26 in as many overs. Zainab top scored for winners with 14.

Director General Technical and Training Dr Akhtar Nawaz Ganjera, DDG Agha Amjedullah, Director Media Shazia, Assistant Director Hostels Malik Imtiaz Hussain along with others were also present on the occasion.

Chief guest Senator Mushahid Ullah while talking to journalists said: “I was thinking how they would play but let me tell you I was very pleased to watch them playing like normal cricketers. I had played cricket in 1971 as U-19 player and also played in England in 1978. I would cherish these moments.” He gave away Rs10000 for high tea for the participating teams and also promised his all-out support and asked sponsors to raise the prize money upto thrice what they had given this time. Winning team captain was handed over trophy, gold medal and Rs50,000 cash while runners up trophy, silver medal and Rs25,000 cash was received by losing team captain. Sher Ali was named player of the tournament and was given Rs 5000 cash.