LAHORE - Shehram Sarwar Chaudhary has been elected as the President while Sardar Akbar Ali Dogar as Secretary General of Lahore High Court Bar Association (LHCBA).

The election of the LHCBA was held here on Saturday in the premises of Lahore High Court wherein 8364 members of the bar used their right to vote for the selection of their favourite candidates.

According to the results announced by the Election Commission, Shehram Sarwar Chaudhary, who had the support of Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) and Asma Jahangir group, succeeded to win the confidence of 3284 members of the bar while their opponents Muhammad Aslam Butter and PML-N-supported Shafqat Chohan secured 2729 and 2175 votes respectively.

A candidate of Hamid Khan’s Professional Group Hafizur Rehman Chaudhry was selected as Vice President by securing 5760 votes. However, his opponent Afzal Azeem Pahat bagged 2391 votes.

Sardar Akbar Dogar proved another successive candidate of Professional Group as 5398 members of the bar expressed their confidence for selecting him Secretary General of the LHCBA. His opponent candidate Rana Awais Toseef secured only 2770 votes of the bar.

For the seat of Finance Secretary Rafila Anjum Minhas was elected as she received 2748 votes while her opponent Sheikh Faisal Zaheer received 2013 votes.

After the results of the election were announced, the supporters of the successful candidates distributed sweets among the lawyers and also danced.