LAHORE - The Excise and Taxation Department Punjab has decided to launch double shift programme for the registration of vehicles in an attempt to reduce the workload and accelerate the pace of work to facilitate the people. The detailed summary in this regard has been submitted to Secretary Excise Hassan Nawaz Tarar. Soon after an official nod, the double shift programme would be put into practice forthwith. The programme will start from 3pm to 6pm for the convenience of the people. Excise & Taxation Department, Punjab (Motor Registration Authority) Director Rizwan Akram Sherwani said that department had set up three booths at National Bank, Farid Court Branch, to provide token to people for commercial vehicles. He said that excise and bank officials would provide the tokens besides updating token tax record. He said that the department had given grace time of two months to the tax defaulters throughout Punjab and after the expiry of the period, they have to pay 200 per cent penalty. The defaulters will also have to face the cancellation of registration of the vehicles, he maintained. He said that people would feel relief with the initiation of double shift programme. He said that official summary had been submitted to the authority concerned. Noshad to participate in Senate election PML-N Shahbaz Sharif Secretariat head Noshad Hameed has decided to participate in Senate elections. According to a press release issued here on Sunday, he had received the application form from PML-N Punjab office. In his statement, he said if the leadership awarded him party ticket, he would leave no stone unturned to serve the nation. Party leaders directed to play effective role PML-Q Punjab president Pervaiz Elahi has directed party leaders and workers to play their important role in the restructuring of party and keep the people abreast about the achievements of their government. He said that the party leaders and workers believe in democracy and prefer to serve the masses whether they are in and out of power. He was addressing the meeting in connection with the restructuring of party at his residence here on Sunday. Sheikh Waqas Akram, Khurshid Mehmood Kasuri, Sardar Tufail Ahmed Kha, Sardar Asif Nakkai, Rana Imtiaz Ahmed Khan, Malik Rashid Ahmed Khan, Ahmed Khan Khai, Ch Zaheer Udin, Muhammad Basharat Raja, Moonis Elahi, Maqsood Ahmed Saabri and others were present on the occasion.