JOHANNESBURG (AFP) - Eight classic matches between India and Pakistan ahead of their Champions Trophy clash on Saturday: INDIA March 4, 1992, Sydney India win by 43 runs At the World Cup, Javed Miandad was a photographers' delight when he jumped up and down in imitation of Indian wicket-keeper Kiran More's constant appealing. The 43-run defeat at Sydney did not affect Pakistan's chances as they rallied from the brink to win the Cup under Imran Khan's inspirational leadership. March 9, 1996, Bangalore India win by 39 runs Pakistan's 39-run defeat in the World Cup quarter-final had been preceded by captain and Wasim Akram pulling out with an injury. Chasing a 288-run target, Pakistan were 113-1 before Aamir Sohail was bowled for 55 to become one of Venkatesh Prasad's three victims. June 8, 1999, Old Trafford India win by 47 runs World Cup match at Old Trafford took place amid the 1999 Kargil conflict in Kashmir. Prasad tormented Pakistan again claiming five wickets to help India win by 47 runs in a Super Sixes fixture. March 1, 2003, Centurion India win by six wickets The 2003 Cup match was dubbed as a duel between Sachin Tendulkar of India and Pakistani paceman Shoaib Akhtar. Tendulkar smashed a robust 98 before becoming the paceman's lone victim. Shoaib conceded 72 in 10 overs in his team's six-wicket defeat. PAKISTAN April 18, 1986, Sharjah Pakistan win by one wicket Javed Miandad hit a last-ball six off Chetan Sharma and finished on 116 not out off 114 balls. He simply anchored the innings as Pakistan chased a stiff 246-run target in 50 overs. India's 245-7 were built around a masterly innings of 92 by Sunil Gavaskar, supported by Krish Srikkanth's 75 and a steady 50 by Dilip Vengsarkar. April 12, 2005, Ahmedabad Pakistan win by three wickets The match was dominated by India until the last few overs when Inzamam-ul-Haq played a captain's knock to help his team square the ODI series 2-2. India made 315-6 in 48 overs which included 123 by Sachin Tendulkar who then had to bowl the final over with Pakistan needing three to win. Tendulkar bowled four dot-balls but Inzamam took two off the fifth, leaving one off the last ball for victory. The final ball was steered towards point and Inzamam ran to complete victory. March 11, 1978, Sahiwal India concede India conceded the match in protest at short-pitched bowling by Sarfraz Nawaz. Pakistan had made 205-7 before India managed to reach 183-2, needing just 23 off the last three overs. Sarfraz's four deliveries in the 38th over were all out of reach of the batsmen, but not called wide. Indian captain Bishen Bedi called his batsmen Anshuman Gaekwad and Gundappa Viswanath back and conceded the match. The series was the first between the rivals for 17 years. September 19, 2004, Edgbaston This Champions Trophy win was Pakistan's only victory against India in an ICC event. Pakistan paceman Shoaib Akhtar and Rana Naved-ul-Hasan shared eight wickets between them to bundle India out for 200. Rahul Dravid fought well during his 67 and in the final overs Ajit Agarkar played a handy knock of 47 to help India reach the second hundred-mark. Pakistan had to rely on the experience of Inzamam-ul-Haq, who made 41 and Mohammad Yousuf 81 not out to guide them to a last-over victory.