KARACHI Pakistan hockey selectors will select the 18-member team for the seven-nation Azlan Shah International Hockey Cup here on Wednesday afternoon at the Hockey Club of Pakistan from the 30 camp trainees, it was learnt on Monday. The one day trials to select the team from the trainees will be held on Wednesday at 4 pm, chief selectors former Olympian Hanif Khan informed TheNation on Monday. After three seniors Zeeshan Ashraf, Waseem Ahmed and Akhtar Ali were granted permission to skip the coming international championship at Ipoh (Malaysia), it gave more room to the national selectors to maneuver and select talented and suitable promising replacements for the experienced players who voluntarily skipped the national selection. There are enough talented but untried youngster mostly from the junior lot amongst the trainees who may have attracted the attention of the selectors during the brief training camp and they can further impress the selectors in the final trial. Besides Hanif Khan, Chaudhry Arshad, Musaddiq Hussain and Ajmal Khan are other members of the selection panel. Winning the championship at Ipoh would be one of the main objective of the Pakistan Hockey Federation but at the same time, the championship in Malaysia could be used to asses the performances of the players for more serious future championship like Asian Games in November in China. The PHF had already declared that Asian Games is their main target and championships in between would be utilised to test younger and fitter players who could prove better replacements for seniors. Hanif Khan has already declared that fitness and commitment would be two major areas where players had to come up to impress the selectors. However, most of those players who played at New Delhi World Cup have better chances of getting the selectorial nod if they could prove their fitness. Azlan Shah Hockey which Pakistan has won four times would be a tough competition due to the presence of strong teams like Australia and South Korea and host Malaysia which had always proved a strong opponent on home grounds, China and India. Egypt is the seventh team in the championship which will be played May 6 to 16. Following players would appear in the one-day trial: Goalkeepers: Nasir Ahmed (PIA), Imran Shah (HBL), Imran Butt(PIA). Full backs: Sohail Abbas (Wapda), Muhammad Imran (Army), Wasif Siddiqui (NBP), Kashif Ali(PIA), Muhammad Ateeq (NBP). Half backs: Muhammad Irfan (PIA), Farid Ahmed (HBL), Muhammad Rashid (Navy), Sajjad Anwar (Wapda), Muhammad Tauseeq (NBP), Aamir Shahzad (PIA), Usman Tariq (SSGC), Zaheer Ahmed (PIA), Zeeshan Ali(HBL). Forwards: Rehan Butt(Wapda), Shakeel Abbasi (SSGC), Muhammad Zubair (PIA), Haseem Khan (NBP), Muhammad Rizwan (Army), Umar Bhutta (HBL), Waqas Shariff (Wapda), Shafqat Rasool(PIA), Muhammad Bilal (KESC), Adeel Hussain (HBL), Shahbaz Ali (HBL), Kashif Ali (Army), Abdul Qayyum (HBL).