ISLAMABAD - President Asif Ali Zardari late Tuesday night approved extension in the service of six additional judges (four of Lahore High Court and two of Sindh High Court) for a period of one year. Spokesperson to the President Farhatullah Babar, said that the President gave approval after the advice of the Prime Minister and the Supreme Courts verdict. Those given extension include Justice Mamoon Rashid Sheikh, Justice Mohammed Farrukh Irfan Khan, Justice Syed Mazhar Ali Akbar Naqvi and Justice Mohammed Yawar Ali of LHC and Justice Salman Hamid and Justice Mohammed Tasnim of SHC, the spokesperson said. Earlier, Parliamentary Commission on Appointment of Judges had not accepted the recommendations of the Judicial Commission to extend the tenure of these six additional judges of High Courts. The Judicial Commission of Pakistan in its meeting held last week had recommended total 31 names (including 24 sessions judges and lawyers for their appointment as Lahore High Court judges and seven for the slots of Balochistan High Court judges). The Commission out of 17 additional judges of Lahore High Court had recommended 14 names for confirmation, while six sessions judges and four lawyers names had been proposed for additional judges of the LHC. The Commission had also recommended three new names and proposed one-year extension to four additional judges of Balochistan High Court. The six sessions judges whose names were proposed for the LHC included Abdul Waheed, Kazim Shamsi, Ejaz Shah, Mehmood Maqbool Bajwa, Mohammad Younas and Abdus Sattar Asghar and the four lawyers names were Shahzad Ghaiba, Ameer Bhatti, Altaf Ibrahim Qureshi and Ch Aminud Din. Three judges out of 17 whose names were not recommended by the Commission for confirmation included Justice Saghir Ahmed Qadri, Justice Imtiaz Ahmed and Justice Muhammad Yawar. The four additional judges of Balochistan High Court whose names were recommended included Justice Jamal Khan Mandokhel, Justice Saeeda Tahira Safdar, Justice Mohammad Noor Maskanzai and Justice Ghulam Mustafa Mengal and three new names proposed are Abdul Qadir Mengal, Mohammad Naseem Akhtar Afghan and Hashim Khakkar.