LAHORE - Umar Akmal and Wahab Riaz succeeded in getting place in the Pakistan Test squad against England while Shoaib Malik and seamer M Khalil have been left out.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) selection committee in a press briefing here at the board’s headquarters on Monday announced the players for Test series against England as well as the PCB XI team for three-day game against England commence from January 11 to 13, 2012.

Umar was left out of the Test series against Sri Lanka and Bangladesh but has won his place back at Malik's expense against England. Malik was dropped after a run of poor performances in ODIs while he hasn't played a Test since August last year. He has managed just 35 runs in six innings since his return to the national team in September this year.

Wahab last played a Test in May 2011 on the tour of the West Indies but his great performance in Quaid-e-Azam Trophy for National Bank of Pakistan with 30 wickets in six games with an average of 24.86 won him a place in the 16-man squad.

Wahab was not being considered for selection in the Pakistan squad as he was suspected of being connected with Mazhar Majeed, one of the defaulters in the spot-fixing trial. The PCB sent a request of clearance to the ICC in this regard and after the game’s governing body’s clearance he has been included in the squad.

Adnan Akmal retained his place as behind the stumps while his main competitor for the wicket-keeping slot Sarfraz Ahmad has been named as captain of PCB XI team for a warm-up match against England. Pakistan team have to play England in a three-Test series, starting from January 17 in Dubai followed by four ODIs and three Twenty20 internationals.

TEST SQUAD: M Hafeez, Taufeeq Umar, Imran Farhat, Azhar Ali, Younus Khan, Misbahul Haq (capt), Asad Shafiq, Umar Akmal, Adnan Akmal, Umar Gul, Aizaz Cheema, Junaid Khan, Wahab Riaz, M Talha, Saeed Ajmal, Abdur Rehman.

PCB XI: Nasir Jamshaid, Afaq Rahim, Harris Sohail, M Ayub Dogar, Fawad Alam, Usman Salahuddin, Sarfraz Ahmad (wicket keeper/captain), Raza Hassan, M Khalil, M Talha, Ali Imran Pasha and Yasir Shah.