HAFIZABAD - Election of District Bar Association will be held on January 13 under the supervision of Election Board consisting of Chairman Rai Muhammad Asif Nawaz Kharal and members Muhammad Naveed Dhothar & Imdad Hussain Tarar, sitting President Malik Irshad Mumtaz Awan and General Secretary Syed Asim Bokhari announced here Monday.

The following have filed their nomination papers to contest the elections for the President: Muhammad Arshad Mehind (PPP District General Secretary) and Syed Nasir Hussain Shirazi; for Vice President: Shakeel Shahzad and Mian Aamir Hussain; for General Secretary: Rai Muhammad Usman Kharal and Sajjad Hussain Tarar; for Joint Secretary: Muhammad Adeel Sulehria and Syed Furrukh Shahzad; for Finance Secretary: Sajid Bilal Sandhu and Shahzad Hussain Tarar and for Library Secretary: Haji Imran Ahmad Khan and Muhammad Yaseen Hanjra.

According to Asim Bokhari, there are 480 members of the DBA who are entitled to cast their votes on January 14.

He said that all-out efforts would be made to hold election in free and transparent manner.

It is to be noted that a tough contest is expected this year as pundits predicted that Arshad Mehind is in strong position.