PORT ELIZABETH  - South Africa won the first trophy available to them in their home summer with victory in the three-match Twenty20 series. After piling on the fifth highest score posted in the shortest format (at both international and domestic level) at St George’s Park, thanks largely to an 89-run third wicket stand between Henry Davids and Justin Ontong, Aaron Phangiso and Ryan McLaren ensured South Africa defended it comfortably.

All of New Zealand’s bowlers save for Mitchell McClenaghan and Ronnie Hira failed to read the pace of the Port Elizabeth pitch. Against the aggression of Davids and Ontong they gave away too many runs which allowed the pair to lay the launch-pad for take-off.

New Zealand did not have the batsmen to do the same. With Martin Guptill and Brendon McCullum at the crease, there was some hope. Once the dominoes began to fall, there was no stopping the slide. Still, New Zealand competed with the hosts with more heart than was expected of them to set the tone ahead for the Test matches.

Earlier, Davids hit his second successive half-century as South Africa made a challenging 179 for six in the third and final Twenty20 international against New Zealand. The slightly-built Davids struck 68 off 51 balls with seven fours and two sixes to enable South Africa to overcome a poor start.

Captain Francois du Plessis opened the batting with Davids but was out for one in the second over, to be followed by Quinton de Kock in the fifth over. But Davids and the recalled Justin Ontong revived the innings with a third wicket stand of 89 off 61 balls before Ontong was caught at cover for 48 off 30 balls.

His innings included three sixes, including two off successive balls from James Franklin, and a four. Left-arm opening bowler Mitchell McClenaghan was again the pick of the New Zealand bowlers, taking two for 24 off four overs. Doug Bracewell also took two wickets, striking with the last two balls of the innings as the South Africans went for their shots. Corey Anderson held four catches, three of them in the deep.



H Davids c Anderson b McClenaghan    68

F du Plessis b Hira    1

Q de Kock c Anderson b McClenaghan    2

J Ontong c Anderson b Franklin    48

D Miller c Anderson b Franklin    28

Behardien c McClenaghan b Bracewell    22

R Kleinveldt not out    0

EXTRAS: (lb4, w6)    10

TOTAL: (6 wkts, 20 overs)    179

FOW: 1-2, 2-26, 3-115, 4-135, 5-179, 6-179

BOWLING: McClenaghan 4-0-24-2, Hira 4-0-24-1, N. McCullum 3-0-27-0, Franklin 3-0-30-1, Bracewell 3-0-35-2, Neesham 3-0-35-0


R Nicol lbw b McLaren    5

M Guptill c Peterson b Phangiso    24

B McCullum c Ontong b Phangiso    25

C Munro c de Kock b McLaren    3

J Franklin c Ontong b Phangiso    16

J Neesham c Morkel b Peterson    12

N McCullum c Peterson b McLaren    17

C Anderson run out    12

D Bracewell not out    15

R Hira c Ontong b Kleinveldt    12

M McClenaghan not out    1

EXTRAS: (lb 1, w 3)    4

TOTAL: (9 wickets; 20 overs)    146

FOW: 1-6, 2-53, 3-56, 4-60, 5-84, 6-87, 7-116, 8-116, 9-137

BOWLING: R McLaren 4-0-25-3, R Peterson 3-0-24-1, M Morkel 4-0-37-0, R Kleinveldt 4-0-25-1, A Phangiso 4-0-25-3, J Ontong 1-0-9-0

TOSS: South Africa

UMPIRES: Johan Cloete, Adrian Holdstock (both RSA)

TV UMPIRE: Shaun George (RSA)

MATCH REFEREE: Andy Pycroft (Zim)