LAHORE – To muster up support for their camps in the upcoming intra-party polls, Ideological Group and Unity Group of the PTI held separate canvassing meeting in the City on Wednesday.

Although the PTI election commission’s code of conduct restricts all the aspirants of the intra-party polls to refrain from forming groups, however the old guard claimed that the newcomers have started the use of huge funds and formation of groups to steal the party polls compelling them to form their group. The Ideological Group (old guard) under Mian Mehmoodur Rasheed organised a workers convention, while Unity Group (newcomers) under the steer of Abdul Aleem Khan held a workers meeting.

Members of the Ideological Group present in the workers convention include Zaheer Abbas Khokhar, Shabbir Sial, Dr Atif, Sadia Saif, Rana Akhtar, Yasir Gilani and Dr Seemi Bukhari. While, Ijaz Chaudhary, who is believed to be supporter of the Mehmmod-ur-Rasheed camp also attended the convention.

According to party sources, Ijaz Chaudhary is focusing provincial party head position in the upcoming intra-party polls.

Unity Group members who attended workers meeting include Shoaib Siddiqui, Mian Hammad Azhar, Mian Hamid Meeraj and Neelam Shah. While, Ahsan Rasheed who joined the Unity camp sometime back also present on this occasion.

It may be noted here, Ahsan Rasheed who was former PTI president Punjab has been issued a show cause notice by the party’s election commission for violating the code of conduct of party polls by forming a group under the command of Aleem Khan in the recent past.  Some of the old members after the show cause to Ahsan Rasheed have left the Unity camp fearing losing support in the party polls. Meanwhile, a third group under the leadership of Farooq Amjad Mir has also been carrying on their party polls drive at a slow pace.