Election Commission of Pakistan has issued the notification of final list of electoral symbols.

The final list has 193 electoral signs, whereas the President has approved for 23 electoral signs.

According to the notification, the number of political parties is 227 whereas that of electoral signs is 193. The Election Commission is in need of more electoral signs, as the number of signs is lesser than that of political parties.

Sources are of the view that the signs denoting ‘Dog’, ‘Donkey, and ‘Lota’ have been eliminated from the list of electoral signs.

Sources said that Pakistan Tehreek-e-Pakistan has given application for the sign of ‘Cricket Bat’.

Earlier, the Election Commission allotted Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (F) the sign of ‘closed book’ instead of ‘open book’, on the ground that the political party tried to secure more votes, as the sign denoted ‘Holy Quran’.