ISLAMABAD - Mehreen of Gujranwala Board has become the fastest athlete of the Pakistan in Inter-Board Athletic Championship being played here at the Jinnah Sports Complex on Wednesday. Mehreen clocked 12.48sec and won the gold medal in the 100m spring race, followed by Turab of BISE Sahiwal with the time of 13.54sec and Javeria Kiran of BISE Faisalabad clocked 13.60sec for the third. Zaryab Arif of Sahiwal Board, Hasina of Mardan Board and Maria of Rawalpindi Board got fourth, fifth and sixth positions respectively. It was the 800m race in which Sahib-e-Asra of Faisalabad Board won gold medal before ousted from the competition due to injury. She clocked 2.41:50sec while Farhat Bano, also from Faisalabad, got silver medal and Zainab Khan of Rawalpindi Board took the bronze. In the long jump, Mahreen took second gold medal with her distance of 5.16m, followed by Javeria of Faisalabad and Turab Zehra of Sahiwal. In the shot-put, Mahreen of Gujranwala took third gold with a distance of 9.54m, followed by Saddique Nisa of Rawalpindi who got silver medal and Habiba of Gujranwala got third position while in the javelin throw, Fatima Hussain of BISE Faisalabad got gold medal with 36.93m distance, followed by Habiba and Hina Arooj of Islamabad. Laila Akbar of Peshawar Board was the only athlete who qualified for the javelin throw and shortlisted in the top eight positions. She recorded a distance of 20.66m.  In the table tennis, Sahiwal, Mardan Khairpur Board, Karachi, Rawalpindi, Abbottabad, Islamabad and Peshawar Board won their respective matches. Teams of Sahiwal, Karachi, Rawalpindi and Islamabad moved to the semifinals of the event. In hockey, Sahiwal, Larkana, Islamabad and Faisalabad registered victories. In the badminton, a total of eight matches were decided. Faisalabad Board beat Larkana 2-0, Abbottabad beat Swat 2-0, Malakand beat Karachi 2-0, Sahiwal beat Karachi 2-0, Islamabad beat Gujranwala 2-0, AJK beat Kohat 2-0, BISE DG Khan beat Mardan 2-0 and BISE Peshawar beat Rawalpindi 2-1. In the volleyball, DG Khan beat Hyderabad 25-14, 25-22 and 25-20. –Staff Reporter