DHAKA - Hosts Bangladesh put up an impressive show with the ball, as they skittled United Arab Emirates (UAE) for just 82, thus winning the by 51 runs at the Stadium here on Friday. Mohammad Usman was the top scorer for UAE with 30 runs, while four Bangladeshi bowlers claimed a couple of wickets each. Earlier, UAE skipper Amjad Javed win the toss and elected to field first, as brought in Fahad Tariq for Qadeer, while Bangladesh skipper Mashrafe Mortaza too made a change in the form of Imrul Kayes, who was replaced by Nurul Hasan. Bangladesh set a target of 134 for UAE, courtesy of healthy knock of 47 from Mohammad Mithun.

UAE began the chase on a shaky note, losing their opening wicket in the form of Mohammad Kallem for an unfortunate duck in the second over of the game, with just a couple of runs on the board. It was followed by a 23-run stand for the second wicket between Rohan Mustafa and Mohammad Shahzad, before Mustafa fell for mere 18 to Mashrafe Mortaza in the fifth over, followed by Shaiman Anwar a couple of over later for just a single as the score read 33 for the loss of three.

The very next over saw the dismissal of Shahzad, who was dismissed for just 12 to Mustafizur Rahman, followed by Swapnil Patil for duck in the very next ball, bringing Mustafizur on a hattrick, that was denied by Amjad Javed, as the score read 34 for the loss of five wickets. Partnerships hardly came as 11 runs later; it was Javed, who fell for three following a rare and unfortunate hit wicket off Mahmudullah in the 11th over.

The very next over saw Fahad Tariq getting dismissed for an unfortunate duck after a careless attempt to come down the track and being stumped by Mushfiqur Rahim. He was followed by Saqlain Haider the over next, as he fell for just a couple to Mahmudullah again, as the score read 55 for the loss of eight. It was followed by a 16-run stand between Mohammad Usman and Ahmed Raza, before Usman was bowled by Taskin in the 16th over for a healthy 30, but not enough, as Ahmed Raza was the final man to be dismissed, as he was stumped for five, and Bangladesh cruised to a 51-run win over the minnows. Mahmudullah was adjudged the Man of the Match.



M Mithun run out 47

Soumya Sarkar c Amjad b Shahzad 21

Sabbir Rahman c Fahad b Rohan 6

Mushfiqur Rahim c Patil b Naveed 4

Shakib Al Hasan b Amjad Javed 13

Mahmudullah not out 36

Nurul Hasan c Fahad b Amjad 0

Mashrafe Mortaza c Fahad b Naveed 0

Taskin Ahmed run out 1

EXTRAS: (lb 2, w 2, nb 1) 5

TOTAL: (8 wckts; 20 overs) 133

FOW: 1-46, 2-72, 3-81, 4-83, 5-112, 6-112, 7-114, 8-133

BOWLING: M Naveed 4-1-12-2, Amjad Javed 4-0-34-2, M Shahzad 4-0-38-1, Ahmed Raza 4-0-17-0, Rohan Mustafa 4-0-30-1.


Rohan Mustafa c Mustafizur b Mashrafe 18

M Kaleem c Mashrafe b Al-Amin 0

M Shahzad c & b Mustafizur 12

Shaiman c Mahmudullah b Mashrafe 1

M Usman b Taskin Ahmed 30

SP Patil c Mashrafe b Mustafizur 0

Amjad Javed hit wicket b Mahmudullah 3

Fahad Tariq st Nurul b Shakib 0

Saqlain c Mashrafe b Mahmudullah 2

Ahmed Raza st Nurul b Shakib 5

M Naveed not out 8

EXTRAS: (w 3) 3

TOTAL: (all out; 17.4 overs) 82

FOW: 1-2, 2-25, 3-33, 4-34, 5-34, 6-45, 7-46, 8-55, 9-71, 10-82

BOWLING: Taskin Ahmed 3-0-24-1, Al-Amin Hossain 2-0-8-1, Mustafizur Rahman 4-0-13-2, Mashrafe Mortaza 3-0-12-2, Shakib Al Hasan 3.4-0-20-2, Mahmudullah 2-0-5-2.

TOSS: United Arab Emirates

UMPIRES: AK Chaudhary, RSA Palliyaguruge

TV UMPIRE: Shozab Raza (Pakistan)

MATCH REFEREE: RB Richardson (West Indies)

RESERVE UMPIRE: Sharfuddoula