LAHORE - Half centuries from Awais Zia and Zahid Mansoor saved the blushes of Rawalpindi on day one of the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy final at Gaddaffi Stadium Sunday. After reeling at 60-6, Rawalpindi finished the day one on 204-7 in their firs innings.
Islamabad captain Imad Waseem put Rawalpindi into bat after winning the toss and his decision paid off as Rawalpindi lost their opener Shoaib Nasir on the second ball of the innings when Shoaib edged a delivery off Shehzad Azam to wicketkeeper M Kashif. Shehzad struck again on the last ball of third over to remove Haseeb Azam as Rawalpindi lost two wickets without scoring any run in three overs. Adnan Mehmood (12) and Naved Malik (33) added 48 runs for third over before Mudassar Ali broke the partnership in style by removing both the players. Junaid Nadir further deepened the Rawalpindi woes when he removed their captain Babar Naeem for golden duck and then got Muzammil Nizam (10) in front of stumps.
Rawalpindi were 60-6 at that stage and it seemed unlikely for them to reach triple figures. But to great credit to Awais and Zahid , Rawalpindi not only survived the Islamabad bowlers onslaught but also were on a very good position when the stumps were drawn on day one. Awais and Zahid slowly negotiated the Islamabad bowlers and made them toil for a 139-run seventh wicket partnership. Awais made patient 76 runs off 185 deliveries with the help of nine boundaries before becoming the third victim of Nadir. Zahid was unbeaten on 60 off 161 balls including 10 boundaries while Talha Qureshi is also on the crease but yet to open his account.

Shoaib Nasir c Kashif b Shehzad    0
Adnan Mehmood b Mudassar    12
Haseeb Azam lbw b Shehzad    0
Naved Malik c Kashif b Mudassar    33
Babar Naeem c Kashif b Nadir    0
Muzammil Nizam lbw b Nadir    10
Awais Zia lbw b Nadir    76
Zahid Mansoor not out    60
Talha Qureshi not out    0
EXTRAS: (b8, w2, nb3)    13
TOTAL: (7 wkts; 83 overs)    204
FOW: 1-0, 2-0, 3-48, 4-49, 5-49, 6-60, 7-199
BOWLING: Shehzad Azam 8-5-8-2, Junaid Nadir 21.2-7-46-3, Mudassar Ali 24.1-11-63-2, Imad Wasim 14-2-37-0, Sarmad Bhatti 10.3-2-23-0, Moed Ahmed 5-1-19-0
ISLAMABAD: Imad Wasim (Cap), Afaq Raheem, Zeeshan Ali, Ali Sarfraz, Faizan Riaz, Moed Ahmed, Sarmad Bhatti, M Kashif (WK), Shehzad Azam, Mudassar Ali, Junaid Nadir
TOSS: Islamabad
UMPIRES: Shozab Raza, Zameer Haider
TV UMPIRE: Ahmed Shahab
MATCH REFEREE: Khatib Rizwan