ISLAMABAD: Four newly appointed members of the Election Commission of Pakistan took oath of their offices in Islamabad on Wednesday morning.

They include Justice (Rtd) Altaf Ibrahim Qureshi from Punjab, Justice ( Rtd) Irshad Qaiser from KPK, Justice (Rtd) Shakeel Ahmed Baloch from Balochistan and Abdul Ghaffar Soomro from Sindh.

Chief Election Commissioner Justice (Rtd) Sardar Muhammad Raza administered oath to the new members of the Commission. With their oath taking of four members, the composition of the Election Commission is complete.

After the oath taking by the new members, they were briefed about the functioning of the election commission of Pakistan and the challenges it faces for the conduct free, fair and transparent elections.

The immediate task before the full election commission will be holding of bye elections against the vacant NA/PAs seats and election of Mayors and Deputy Mayors of the local governments