ISLAMABAD The Peoples Party swept the Azad Jammu and Kashmir elections by securing 21 seats while the PML-N and Muslim Conference (MC) lagged behind on second and third positions with 8 and 5 seats respectively. The independents pocketed three seats. Four lives were consumed by the gory contest for 38 of the 41 AJK Legislative Assembly direct seats as the Kashmiris in Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) and those living in Pakistan used their right of vote for 29 AJK and nine refugees seats. The election was marred by worst sort of clashes, demonstrations and accusations of rigging. Due to bitter clashes in Lahore the elections on Kashmir Valley-11 were put off while balloting on three refugees seats two in Sindh and one in Khyber-Pakhtunkhawa had already been postponed owing to poor law and order situation in Karachi and reports of massive irregularities in the Khyber-Pakhtunkhawa constituency. Till filing of this report the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) had won some 21 seats while Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) stood second with eight seats to their credit. In third place, Muslim Conference had bagged five seats while two seats were secured by the independents. The major upset was the defeat of Sardar Khalid Ibrahim, head of Jammu and Kashmir Peoples Party, who lost from the seat considered to be part of his inheritance and a stronghold of JKPP. Jamaat-I-Islami AJK Amir Abdur Rashid Turrable also lost elections. But his defeat was expected as the PML-N candidate who was a sitting MLA from the area had took part in the elections as independent candidate in defiance of the party discipline. This divided the votes of JI and PML-N which were in an electoral alliance. As expected, the PPP central leader and in-charge of the AJK elections campaign Barrister Sultan Mahmood Chaudhry won the elections from his home constituency, Mirpur, with thumping majority and so did the another PPP stalwart Sardar Mohammad Yaqoob, who defeated Sardar Khalid Ibrahim. The head of PML-N, a new entrant in AJK elections, Sardar Farooq Haider won elections for two constituencies he was contesting. The PPP performed well beyond expectations on the refugees seats in Punjab and won the elections from two valley seats in Rawalpindi, defeating the PML-N candidates who were considered favourites on these seats. As expected, the PPP and MC joint candidate from refugees seat in Gujrat also won the elections. Muslim Conference, which has ruled the AJK for decades, was the major loser in these elections as these polls marginalised it, reducing its share in the elections from government forming majority to just around half a dozen seats. Since the 1985 elections the Muslim Conference remained in power for five to six time while PPP remained in power for three times. Political analysts said that the entry of PML-N in the AJK politics had greatly damaged the Muslim Conference. The PML-N was actually carved out from the Muslim Conference and majority of the seat winning candidates had left it to join the newly entrant PML-N. These analysts were of the view that now Muslim Conference was left with no choice but to enter into an alliance with the PPP to form government for which the leadership of both the parties were already in consultations. Sources informed TheNation that PPP had promised the slot of President to Muslim Conference chief Sardar Atique Ahmad Khan and that was the reason his party had withdrew their candidates against PPP candidates on some constituencies in AJK as well as on the refugees seats.