MUZAFFARABAD - Exercising his powers under Interim Constitutional Act-1974 of Article 14 Sub Section (3), Prime Minister of Azad Jammu and Kashmir Chaudhry Abdul Majeed yesterday ousted two cabinet ministers by giving formal approval.

The ousted ministers were Minister for Revenue and Custodian Ch Ali Shan Soni and Minister for AKLAS and Fisheries Raja Wajid-ur- Rehman.

Before dismissal of these two ministers, Prime Minister Majeed had also removed five members of his cabinet including Minister for Rehabilitation Abdul Majid Khan, Minister for Mangla Dam Affairs Muhammad Hussain Sargala, Minister for Industries Akbar Ibrahim, Minister for Transport Tahir Khokhar and Minister for Sports Muhammad Saleem Bhut on the grounds of party discipline violation.

So for seven ministers have been ousted from Majeed’s cabinet.


Despite the thin normal life in view of the scorching heat and because of the great blessings of the Holy month of Ramazanul Mubarik, the electioneering by various political parties and their candidates, besides independents, has reached at its climax with great enthusiasm and devotion to fight in the scheduled July 21 general elections in Azad Jammu and Kashmir.

Since the announcement of schedule of the general elections -2016 by the AJK Election Commission, the election campaign by the prospective political parties and independent candidates gradually picked up momentum with rapidly increassing traditional zeal and fervor the candidates and the electorates.

Over 600 candidates belonging to various political parties including AJK chapters of PML-N, PTI, PPP, Jamaat-e-Islami, Jammu and Kashmir People’s Party, Jammu and Kashmir Liberation League, and independents are in the run.

The candidates belonging to various political parties and the independents are fully prepared to jump into the elections arena to contest for capturing membership of the 49-member State Legislative Assembly, lower house of the AJK Parliament.

According to a latest investigations, the constitutional term of the incumbent AJKLegislative Assembly (elected in June 26, 2011 polls), is going to be ended by July 25.

In view of the constitutional compulsion, the AJK government and the Election Commission are bound to hold the elections by July 25 this year in all circumstances.

"Every candidate would be allowed to spend only up to Rs 02 million for his or her election campaign in the polls to take part in the election which scheduled to be held on July 21, official sources said.

And at the same time, brisk preparations are afoot by the AJK Election Commission for holding the elections in AJK, in a free, fair and transparent manner.

As many as 625 candidates have been declared eligible by the returning officers to contest scheduled July 21 general elections in Azad Jammu and Kashmir, AJK Election Commission sources told APP on Sunday.

At least 660 candidates had submitted their nomination papers to contest elections to Azad Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly scheduled for July 21.

Nomination papers of 35 candidates had been rejected by the concerned returning officers (ROs) functioning under the AJK Election Commission.

The remaining 625 will contest the polls in the 41 constituencies of the Legislative Assembly.