ISLAMABAD - Seasoned bowler M Hussain Chahtha won the Third Ramazan Cup Open Tenpin Bowling Championship here on late Saturday night.

Shakir Abbasi of Neo TV won the sports journalists category. Besides local bowlers of twin cities, top junior and winner of the recently concluded National Ranking Tenpin Bowling Championship 2016, Sardar Ahmer Abbas Saldera, Ali Suria and Danyal Shah of Karachi also participated in the championship as special guests.

The best of two-game pre-quarterfinals witnessed number of upsets as players like Afzal Akhtar, Salim Baig, Saqib, Khalid Butt, Sardar Ahmer Abbas, Ijaz Ur Rehman all failed, which was a huge surprise, as never in the history, top players failed to play in the last four.

It was a nail-biting competition in semis between former national champion Hussain, Ali Suria, Danyal Shah and Ali Shah as the momentum kept on swinging from one player to another. Chahtha was using all the is experience, while Suria, who is described as the future of Pakistan bowling, was pressing very hard and the surprise package Danyal was also not in a mood to allow smooth sailing to seniors. It was a highly nervy last round. Chahtha played one of the best games of his life as he scored 194 and 190 in last two attempts after committing too many mistakes, which made the entire difference. Danyal secured second position with 176 and 153 in last two attempts, while surprisingly it was not Ali Suria, who grabbed third spot, but it was another surprise package Ali Shah, who took the third spot right under the nose of Ali Suria with scores of 159 and 153 in last two attempts.

Chatha was awarded trophy and Rs 10,000 cash by chief guest PTBF secretary Ijaz Ur Rehman. Danyal got runners up trophy and Rs 7000 cash and Ali Shah received Rs 5000 cash and trophy.

While it was a highly close and tense encounter witnessed among RISJA members in the media category. The best of 1-game event was finally won by Neo TV’s Shakir Ababsi after securing a total of 135 pins while Metro Wtach’s Zahid Farooq Malik grabbed second position with 118 pins and Jahan Pakistan’s Afzal Javed remained third with 107 pins. Mohsin Ali of The Nation remained 4th with total of 105 pins.  Shakir was awarded Rs 5000 cash and trophy, Zahid received Rs 3000 and trophy and Afzal Javed Rs 2000 and trophy.