LAHORE - Favourites Islamabad clinched the 1st ODCGL 5-A-Side Hockey Tournament title after routing Quetta 8-5 in the final played here at the National Hockey Stadium under lights on Saturday night.

For the third position match, Lahore beat Faisalabad 4-3. In the fifth/sixth position match, Karachi Sharks beat Peshawar Lions on penalty shootout after 2-2 draw.

Islamabad immediately went up within the first six seconds when Olympian Rizwan Senior hit the target. In third minute, Faisal Qadir made it 2-0. Within seconds, Quetta pulled through Rizwan Jr. Islamabad made it 3-1 through Ejaz.

After break, Faisal Qadir added another through an unstoppable rising hit from some distance. Quetta once again came back with an excellent display and Faisal Shah’s wonderful reverse hit found the target. It was 4-4 when Rizwan Jr covered some ground and sounded the far corner of the goal with a slap shot. It was his 10th goal of the tournament.

Stung by this sudden reversal, the Islamabad side tried utmost to regain the upper hand. It was an end to end stuff with the two goal keepers, the busiest in the field. In the last minute of the second period, Quetta again committed the mistake of giving Faisal Qadir time and space, whose thunderous strike made it 5-4.

In last 12 minute period, the experience of the Islamabad side showed. Rizwan Sr gave the final touches to a fast move. Then, Faisal Qadir scored his fourth goal of the night. Quetta reduced the margin with the goal of the final. Kashif running along the goal line eliminated two defenders and then with a superb reverse hit beat the goal keeper. The final finished at 8-5 when Man of Tournament Rizwan Sr, after a delightful dribbling run, completed his hat trick.

A good crowd turned up for the final day. Hockey lovers arrived from outside Lahore as well, including around 80 kids from a Sargodha based hockey academy. Chief guest Azam Saigol, PIA Chairman distributed the prizes among the teams and the individuals. Winners Islamabad received Rs 7 lac, runners-up Quetta Rs 5 lac, third position holder Lahore Rs 4 lac, fourth position holder Faisalabad Rs 3 lac, fifth position holder Karachi Rs 2 lac and sixth position holder Peshawar received Rs 1 lac.