PESHAWAR - After refusal to award party tickets to old members of the Awami National Party, several disgruntled candidates have decided to contest the upcoming general elections independently from various constituencies of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and spoil the vote bank of the nationalist party.  

The dissident candidates include former MPA Attifur-Rahman, former MPA Orangzeb Khan and member of National Assembly from NA-28 Buner Isteqbal Khan and several others party workers from PK-32, PK 33 and PK-35 from Sawabi where they have decided to support opposition instead of supporting Awami National Party’s candidates. 

Taking to journalists, Awami National Party former MPA Attifur Rahman said that he had decided to contest elections from NA-2 and PK-5 where ANP had already fielded candidate Arbab Najeebullah from NA-2 and Arbab Tahir from PK-5.

Attifur Rahman said that he would not resign from party basic membership and despite of rivalries over ticket issues he would stand member of the Awami National Party.

In 2008 general elections, Attif-ur-Rahman had been elected as Member of Provincial Assembly, however this time the party replaced him with Arbab Tahir, who is also Provincial General Secretary of the party.

Likewise Aurangzeb Khan who is former MPA from PK-1 Peshawar also decided to contest election independently. Aurangzeb Khan has been elected in bye-polls after the death of his brother Alamzeb Khan. 

Several activists of the Awami National Party in Sawabi has also expressed anguish over not allotting party tickets to contest the upcoming elections.

In this regard an important meeting of office- bearers of PK-35 was held in Zaida Union Council Sawabi where they have decided to support the rival candidates instead of supporting ANP.

Similarly, the meeting of ANP office-bearers for PK-33 was held in Yar Hussain while meeting of NA-13 was held in Manki Sharif Nowshera where they expressed severe reservations over not allotting tickets to senior candidates of ANP.

In district Buner former MPA Isteqbal Khan also quit the party over ticketing issue as former district Nazim Raof Khan has been awarded party ticket for NA-28. Isteqbal Khan now has announced to joined Jamiat Uelma-e-Islam (F)

It is to mention here that earlier in February, the party Karak chapter suffered a blow when former provincial minister for prisons Mian Nisar Gul resigned from the basic membership of the party.

After this it would be difficult for ANP to find a suitable candidate in the district to counter its expelled leader Farid Toofan in the upcoming general elections.

Other lawmaker who quit the ANP recently includes Pir Dilawar Shah, the MNA from Kohat. He too enjoyed power for five years and left the party to join the PPP for contesting the coming election for the National Assembly seat from Kohat.

It is perfect arrangement as the PPP didn’t have a strong candidate in Kohat and Pir Dilawar Shah may not have got the ANP ticket this time in presence of other aspirants including Syed Saeed Shah.

 Some of the lawmakers who joined the ANP for the sake of power won’t contest the elections on the ANP ticket. They would contest as independent candidates and in case of victory would join the ruling party. Such lawmakers mostly belong to Hazara division.

 It is to mentioned here that Awami National Party have given the party ticket to those leaders who were active in party affairs while those who did not performed well in long five years terms of Awami National Party in the province were not awarded party tickets.

However the old wining cand nal Party.