KARACHI (PR) - Council of Pakistan Newspapers Editors (CPNE) has constituted its provincial committee for Punjab to promote and safeguard interest of member publications in the province.

According to a Press release issued by CPNE Secretary-General Aamer Mahmood here on Tuesday, Rehmat Ali Razi (Weekly AZM) has been appointed chairman of the Punjab Committee while Syed Muhammad Munir Jillani (Daily Paigham) as deputy chairman.

The other members of the Committee are: Arif Nizami (Daily Pakistan Today), Zia Shahid (Daily Khabrain), Imtiaz Alam (South Asian Journal), Altaf Hussain Qureshi (Monthly Urdu Digest), Rameeza Majid Nizami (Daily Nawa-i-Waqt), Rashid Rehman (Daily Times), Shaheen Qureshi (Daily Times), Mumtaz A. Tahir (Daily Aftab), Tanveer Shoukat (Daily Ghareeb), Shahid Amin (Daily Islam), Ayaz Khan (Daily Express), Umer Shami (Daily Pakistan), Mian Habibullah (Daily Din), Syed Mumtaz Shah (Daily Mashriq), Syed Sajjad Bokhari (Daily Abtak), Humayun Gulzar (Daily Syadaat), Syed Intizar Hussain Zanjani (Monthly Aaina-e-Qismat), Sardar Tahir Mahmood (Monthly Hina Digest), Irfan Athar Qazi (Daily Jurrat), Mohsin Naqvi (Daily City-42), Humayun Tariq (Daily Business Report), Malik Muhammad Moazzam (Daily Manshoor), Raja Asad Munir Bhatti (Daily Mussawat), Ahmad Ali Baloch (Daily Kaiynaat) and M. Akmal Chohan (Daily Wafa).

The committee will also formulate activities, hold functions, seminars and workshops, etc, to develop the standard of print media in Punjab.