LAKKI MARWAT - Elections related activities have gained momentum in the district as former lawmakers and key politicians of the area obtained nomination papers to contest next general elections.

A tough contest is expected between Saifullah brothers and candidates affiliated with JUI-F for the one national and three provincial assembly seats of the district.

According to reliable sources local leaders of JUI-F have convinced central chief of the party to confront PML (likeminded) chairman Salim Saifullah Khan in the poll arena for the national assembly seat.

Salim Saifullah has got nomination papers from the office of respective returning officer for NA-27 while JUI-F chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman is expected to visit the district for obtaining and filing of nomination papers.

The Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf (PTI) Central Executive Council’s member Khan Bahadar Marwat also obtained nomination papers to face the heavyweight aspirants of JUI-F and PML(likeminded).

For PK-74 (Lakki-I) constituency, PPP provincial president Anwar Saifullah Khan and former MPAs Naseer Muhammad Khan Maidadkhel and Zafrullah khan received papers from the office of concerned returning officer.

Former Tehsil nazim Naurang Anwar Hayat khan, Naseer Kamal advocate son of former provincial minister Anwar Kamal Khan (late), Mufti Ziaullah and other candidates also got papers to try their lot on the same provincial assembly seat.

It is pertinent to mention here that Anwar Saifullah Khan had won elections on PK-74 as an independent candidate in 2008 general elections. 

Anwar Saifullah Khan, his brother Humayun Saifullah Khan (former MNA) and nephews Asad Saifullah Khan and Jahangir Saifullah Khan also obtained nomination papers to contest elections for PK-75 (Lakki-II).

Former MPA Malik Imran, his brother Malik Noor Saleem, former MNA Ghulamud Din Jabukhel and PTI leader Khan Bahadar are among expected aspirants for PK-75 as they have got nomination papers.

Former MPA Munawar Khan of JUI-F and Akhtar Munir Marwat of PML-N are considered to the strong candidates in the run for PK-76 (Lakki-III) the provincial assembly constituency consisted of Lakki city and adjacent rural localities.

Former district nazim advocate Qudratullah Khan, ex-city nazims Ishfaq Ahmad Khan Minakhel and Dr Khalid Latif Khan Minakhel, JUI-S district chief Maulana Habibullah Haqqani,  Maulana Ameer Nawaz Khan of JUI and his son advocate Hafiz Asif Salim have also obtained nomination papers for the same provincial assembly constituency.