Ormsby lifts Hong Kong Open title

HONG KONG - Australia's Wade Ormsby won the Hong Kong Open Sunday as Rafael Cabrera-Bello suffered heartbreak on the final green for the second year in a row. Ormsby, playing in the penultimate pair, had bogeyed the difficult 18th hole and left Cabrera-Bello needing only a par to force a playoff. But a poor bunker shot by the Spanish left him too much to do with his putt, which rolled inches wide to hand the Australian his first European Tour title -- 13 years after he started playing on the circuit. "Unbelievable to be honest ... 280-odd starts on the European Tour, and a first win means a lot to me," said Ormsby. "The first, I look at is Greg Norman's so that's cool -- I'm a bit emotional," he said. Americans Paul Peterson and Julian Suri, and Swede Alexander Bjork, also finished on 10 under par.–AFP

Ahmed lifts Punjab Amateur Golf trophy

LAHORE – Ahmed Baig lifted the coveted trophy in the 35th Punjab Amateur Golf Championship which concluded here at Lahore Gymkhana golf course. Ahmed emerged as title winner with gross 214 while Taimoor Khan of PAF (215) and Ashiq Hussain of Multan (228) were second and third respectively. M Saqib finished fourth and Abdul Zahoor of Multan was at number fifth with gross 229. Danish Javed won the first net position with aggregate score of 212 while Hassan Samiuddin (215) was second and Khalid Mehmood (219) was third. In ladies gross, Anna James Gill was first, Rimsha Ijaz second and Parkha Ijaz third while the net title went to Suneyah Osama while Samea Javed Ali was runner-up and Hamna Amjad third. In the end, Lahore Gymkhana convener golf Shaukat Javed awarded prizes to the winners.–Staff Reporter

Hadi, Adil win Little Master Chess

LAHORE - M Hadi and Adil Irfan won the Little Master Chess Under-14 and Under-10 category titles respectively here at the Alhamra Town Campus. Laurel Bank Public School (LPS) System organised the event in collaboration with Punjab Chess Association (PCA). The tournament was conducted in U-10, U-14 and open categories. M Hadi Mughal won the U-14 title while Adil Rehan was second and Salman Haider was third. The U-10 title was won by Adil Irfan while Arham Rehan was second and Hayan Naveed third. The open category title went to Faizan Ullah while Hiza Tariq was runner-up and Husnain Hassan won third position. PCA secretary Amir Kareem and LPS director finance Imran Mian distributed prize purse of Rs 60,000 among the position holders.–Staff Reporter

Bilal excels in Honda Chenab title win

LAHORE - Bilal Haye’s eight goals helped Honda Chenab register convincing 12-10 victory over Artema Medical/Black Horse Paints to clinch the Winter Polo Cup here at the Lahore Polo Club (LPC) ground on Sunday. Former Lahore Polo Club president Abdul Haye Mehta graced the final as chief guest and gave away trophies and shields to the winners. LPC executive committee member Omar Sadiq, secretary Col (r) Shoaib Aftab, members and their families and a great number of polo lovers were also present on the occasion. Bilal Haye has been tremendous with his pony and mallot throughout this polo season and this event too, he kept on firing fantastic goals for his team while in the final, he emerged as top scorer by smashing exceptional eight goals. Ahmed Ali Tiwana and Ghulam Mustafa Monnoo banged in a brace each. From the losing side, Hamza Mawazh Khan hammered double hat-trick while Abubakar Siddique and Ahmad Bilal Riaz scored one goal apiece. Dawood Group outclassed Newage by 10-3 to win the subsidiary final. From the winning side, Raja Arslan Najeeb struck five goals, Abdullah Dawood three and Omar Asjad Malhi and Mumtaz Abbas Niazi hit one goal apiece. From the losing side, Alman Jalil Azam scored a brace while Shah Shamyl Alam added one.–Staff Reporter