LAHORE- The Punjab government today declared eleven cities of the province as sensitive during Muharram-ul-Haram and beefed up security to avoid any unwanted incident.

According to reports, the cities, that have been declared sensitive, include Lahore, Rawalpindi, Bhakar, Chakwal, Multan, Faisalabad, Jhang, Gujrat, Bahawalpur, D.G Khan and Sahiwal. The government also said the Pakistan Army would remain on standby for Muharram 9 and 10 to maintain peace.

City Police Officer (CPO) Humyion Bashir Tarrar said that FC, Pakistan Rangers and other paramilitary forces would assist police, and the army would be called to maintain law and order, if required. He said that strict implementation of the Muharram Security Plan was to be ensured and the police department to remain on high alert throughout Muharram ul Haram.

Close circuit television (CCTV) cameras will be installed at the entire route of main procession of Zuljinnah and important points of Majalis in city for security during Muharram.