LAHORE - PML-Q top leadership has decided to hold workers conventions in all the districts of Punjab as part of party’s reorganisation drive to get ready for any electoral exercise in the near future.

The decision was taken in a PML-Q Punjab chapter meeting concerning party’s organization with the joint presiding of party chief, Chaudhary Shujaat Hussain and Punjab president, Chaudhary Pervaiz Elahi at Muslim League House on Sunday. A committee had already been formed for the task under the leadership of Moonis Elahi along with senior party leaders and districts representatives.

Addressing the party leaders and workers on this occasion, Shujaat and Pervaiz said that workers conventions would be held in every district of Punjab after Muharramul Haram to reorganise the party afresh at the grass root level. They asked the party workers to maintain unity among their ranks and play proactive role in party’s reorganization to the grass root level of union council.

PML-Q top leaders said that incumbent colleagues of the party would be remembered when the party gets a position to govern, as they were assets of the party. Shujaat and Pervaiz said that PML-Q would form think-tanks comprising senior leaders at the national and provincial levels, which would give their assessments concerning achieving the target of party reorganization successfully, besides valuable assessment regarding national matters. They claimed that rulers were afraid of holding the local bodies’ elections fearing public anger because of their (rulers) poor performance.

They said that PML-Q role in national politics had always been important and positive and would, remain so forever, even being out of power party’s services had proved wrong all assessment of the opponents.

On this occasion, Shujaat and Pervaiz also lauded the role and great sacrifices of the Pak Army for the defence of the frontiers, besides praising the Zarb-e-Azb effort for eliminating terror nurseries.

Prominent among the party leaders who attended the meeting include: Moonis Elahi, Kamil Ali Agha, Tariq Bashir Cheema, Chaudhary Zaheeruddin Khan, Dr Khalid Ranjha, Waqas Hassan Mokal, Muhammad Shah Khagga, Ahmad Yaar Heraj, Dr Azeemuddin Lakhvi and Ghias Ahmad Mela.