MIRPUR (AJK) - A high-profile 20-member delegation comprising think tanks representing almost all major segments of civil society left for India on Tuesday to attend the scheduled three-day Pakistan-India Joint Convention being held in Allahabad (Utter Pradesh State) India, from December 29, a representative of the host organization stated.

“The 8th joint convention is being held under the auspices of eminent non-governmental fora - the Pakistan-India Peoples Forum for Peace and Democracy with prime focus to promote peace between India and Pakistan through people-to-people initiatives and step up promotion of peace and democracy in both of the countries besides encouraging efforts for early resolution of all long-standing differences between the two countries including the lingering Jammu & Kashmir conflict”, Coordinator of the Forum in AJK Munir Hussain Chaudhry told reporters here on Tuesday.

Munir said that around 250 delegates from across Pakistan besides Azad Jammu & Kashmir and Gilgit / Baltistan would participating in the convention being hosted by the Pakistan-India People’s Forum for Peace & Democracy under the spirit to encourage efforts for peaceful relations by encouraging bilateral ties between the people of the two arch rivals for reaching to peaceful settlement of all long standing issues.

He said that the delegates from AJK and GB representing various segments of civil society include politicians, retired judges of superior judiciary, social and human rights activists, businessmen, legal experts, seasoned journalists and lawmakers. Members of the delegation from AJK and Gilgit-Baltistan include Justice (r) Abdul Majeed Mallick, former Chief Justice of AJK High Court and President Jammu & Kashmir Liberation League, Justice (r) Sharif Hussain Bukhari, Chairman Kashmir Action Committee, PPP-Shaheed Bhutto AJK President Munir Hussain Chaudhry, Syed Shaukat Ali Shah, Member AJK Legislative Assembly, former Speaker AJK Legislative Assembly and leader of PML (N) AJK Chapter Shah Ghulam Qadir, senior Kashmiri journalist AH Nizami, Ch M Saeed (Former President FPCCI and AJKCCI), former DBA President M Riaz, M Sabir Insari, President AJK Chapter of JKLF (Yaseen Mallick faction), Advocate Ch Khalid Rasheed, Senior Minister AJK Ch M Yaseen, JKLF Chairman Sardar M Saghir, Gilgit-Baltistan National Alliance Chairman Innayat Ullah Shamali, Member Gilgit-Baltistan Legislative Assembly Amina Bibi, Muhammad Sabir, Chairman All Party National Alliance, Dr Shaheen Akhter, Quratul Ain Khalid, Social Worker, Mrs Shagufta Saeed, Member Mirpur Women Club and Maria Iqbal Tarana, Kashmiri journalist and Malik M Asghar Advocate, ex President DBA Kotli.