LAHORE – The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Tuesday announced the Pakistan Under-19 team for South Africa Tour scheduled to be held in January 2012.

 “The U-19 team is selected purely on merit as only those players were selected who performed exceptionally well at domestic level and I hope these players will try their best to perform well and bring good name to the country,” Ilyas said.

Following is the squad:

Sami Aslam, Babar Azam (capt), S Faraz Ali, Umer Waheed (vc), Shahan Akram, S Saad Ali, Adnan Mahmood, M Irfan, Shahid Ilyas, Ehsan Adil, Azizullah, Zia ul Haq, Fawad Khan, Usman Qadir and Saifullah Bangash (wk).

Reserves: Imam ul Haq, Salman Afridi (wk), Mir Hamza, M Nawaz, Ghazanfar Abbas and M Farman.

Haroon Rasheed (manager), Sabih Azhar (coach), Dr Sohail Saleem (doctor-cum-physio), Yasir Malik (trainer) and Usman Hashmi (analyst).