MUZAFFARABAD - No-trust motion brought against Azad Jammu and Kashmir Prime Minister Chaudhry Abdul Majeed failed as no member present in the Legislative Assembly voted in its favour in Saturday’s session.

It should be mentioned that the motion had been submitted by two ruling People’s Party (PPAJK) dissidents, Abdul Majid Khan and Muhammad Hussain Sargala on July 22.

However, the assembly secretariat sources claimed that they had also received, by fax, an application from the two MLAs for withdrawal of the no-confidence resolution.

The resolution was tabled during Saturday’s session of the Legislative Assembly which had been summoned by the president at 10 am.

Thirty MLAs were present during the session and none of them voted in favour of the motion. The resolution stood rejected as a result.

Sources said the failure of no-trust motion was pre-decided. Back channel meetings and absence of MLAs supporting the resolution during session confirms the secret talks of the political leadership.

Ch Abdul Majeed of PPP’s AJK chapter was sworn in as the 11th prime minister of Azad Kashmir in 2011.

He was born in 1948 in the Tangdev village of AJK’s Mirpur district and is a 1969 law graduate from Karachi’s SM Law College.

In case the resolution was passed by the majority of the total members of the assembly (currently 48), the person named in the motion as the successor in this case Barrister Sultan Mahmood would have assumed the office of prime minister, replacing Majeed.