LONDON-Double Man Booker winner J M Coetzee and four debut authors have been named on the longlist for the 2016 prize.

The Australian author, who was born in South Africa, previously won in 1983 and 1999 and could become the first author to win the prize three times.

He faces competition from 12 authors, including 2012 nominee Deborah Levy and A L Kennedy, who was a judge in 2012.

Chair of judges Amanda Foreman said the listed books challenged “expectations of what a novel is and can be”.

The Man Booker shortlist will be announced on 13 September, with the winner being declared at a ceremony at London’s Guildhall on 25 October.

Alongside Coetzee, who previously won with Life & Times of Michael K and Disgrace, the longlist includes six UK-based authors, five from the US and one from Canada.