ISLAMABAD - The four new members of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) yesterday were administered oath by the Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Justice (Retd) Sardar Raza Khan at a simple ceremony held at the Commission.

Abdul Ghaffar Soomoro (Sindh), Justice (Retd) Shakeel Baloch (Balochsitan), Altaf Ibrahim Qureshi ( Punjab) and Irshad Qaiser (KP) took the oath as new members of ECP for five years.

Soon after the oath-taking ceremony, the members were given comprehensive briefing by Additional Secretary Administration M. Fida about election laws and other important matters relating to the petitions pertaining to the local governments.

Interestingly, there was no discussion about the PPP and PTI Panama scam related corruption references filed against Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif.