CARDIFF (Agencies) - Prasanna Jayawardene hit 112 to put Sri Lanka in control of the first Test against a weary England here on Friday. James Anderson struck in the third over of the day but Thilan Samaraweera kept the tourists on top with an elegant 58. Wicketkeeper-batsman Jayawardene then took centre stage, reaching his third Test century from 147 balls as Sri Lanka racked up 400 all out. Captain Andrew Strauss was caught at slip in the penultimate over as England finished day two on 47-1. The late wicket capped an excellent performance from the tourists on a day when the vulnerabilities of England's four-bowler strategy were exposed. Part-time seamer Jonathan Trott, filling the role previously performed by Paul Collingwood, gave up 29 runs from his six overs, while the Sri Lankans coped comfortably with Graeme Swann's off spin. That put pressure on England's trio of seamers and when Anderson was forced off by a back and side injuries - which require a precautionary scan - Strauss was left desperately short of options. Nonetheless, the hosts stuck to their task, with the luckless Broad eventually becoming the second youngest Englishman after Ian Botham to reach 100 Test wickets. ScoreCard SRI LANKA 1ST INNINGS: (Overnight: 133-2) T Paranavitana b Tremlett 66 T Dilshan b Swann 50 K Sangakkara c Prior b Anderson 11 M Jayawardene c Strauss b Anderson 4 T Samaraweera c Swann b Anderson 58 P Jayawardene c Prior b Broad 112 F Maharoof run out 16 T Perera c Tremlett b Broad 25 R Herath c Trott b Swann 25 S Lakmal c Broad b Swann 2 A Mendis not out 1 EXTRAS: (b9, lb21) 30 TOTAL: (all out, 118.4 overs) 400 FOW: 1-93, 2-114, 3-133, 4-159, 5-243, 6-278, 7-346, 8-397, 9-397, 10-400 BOWLING: Anderson 28-8-66-3; Broad 33-4-113-2; Tremlett 26-9-81-1; Swann 24.4-2-78-3; Trott 6-0-29-0; Pietersen 1-0-3-0 ENGLAND 1ST INNINGS: AJ Strauss c Jayawardene b Lakmal 20 AN Cook not out 24 JM Anderson not out 1 EXTRAS: (lb 1, nb 1) 2 TOTAL: (1 wicket; 20 overs) 47 FOW: 1-46 BOWLING: Lakmal 7-3-13-1; Perera 6-1-19-0; Dilshan 2-0-9-0; Maharoof 4-1-5-0 (1nb); Mendis 1-1-0-0