ISLAMABAD - Chairman Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, and Co-Chairman Asif Ali Zardari, in their separate messages, on Sunday congratulated Prime Minister Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani for achieving the coveted status of being the longest serving elected prime minister of the country in its 64 years history.

Prime Minister Gilani, who is also the Vice Chairman of the PPP, has exceeded the tenure of Shaheed-e-Millat Liaqat Ali Khan, who served as country’s premier for four years, two months and one day. Gilani was elected as prime minister on March 25, 2008.

The PPP Chairman and Co-Chairman attributed the achievement to the leadership of PPP and the policy of reconciliation given by Shaheed Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto.

They appreciated the commitment, courage and wisdom of Prime Minister Gilani for creating a balance among the state institutions of the country. They said the country had now been set on a trajectory to democracy and smooth transition, in line with the Constitution, for the first time in its history.

The two leaders paid rich tributes to the Prime Minister also for establishing the supremacy of the Parliament and lauded him for attending all sessions of the Parliament, holding of maximum number of Cabinet meetings, record legislation specially on women empowerment and human rights.

They particularly mentioned the unanimous passage of amendments leading to the restoration of 1973 Constitution that was brutally mutilated by successive dictators.

PPP Chairman Bilawal and Co-Chairman President Zardari were also appreciative of the self-autonomy given to Gilgit-Baltistan, 

Aghaz-e-Haqooq-e-Balochistan - a landmark development package for the country’s largest province to mitigate the sense of deprivation of its people, the historic 7th National Finance Commission Award to ensure just division of resources among the provinces.

They mentioned the rehabilitation of the Internally Displaced Persons of Swat and Malakand in a record time and an unprecedented increase of 125 per cent in the salaries of government employees, as some of the achievements of the over four-year tenure of Prime Minister Gilani, who also ensured that there was no political prisoner in the country.