LONDON: Two leading unions of Pakistani journalists in the UK - Pakistan Journalists Association (PJA) and Pakistan Press Club (PPC) - have called on Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) leadership in Pakistan to publicly condemn and expel three activists who were involved in attacking a senior Pakistani journalist as well as others during a PTI demonstration outside Hasan Nawaz Sharif’s flat here.

According to reports, veteran journalist Ahmed Ali Syed, who works for a private television channel from London, was attacked by Tariq Mahmood during the PTI demonstration and extremely vulgar language was used against the journalist as he reported back to his news channel about the estimated number of protestors in the demonstrations. Tariq Mahmood led the attack and later on he was joined by PTI senior activist Faisal Khawaja in congratulating him on abusing the media. A third yet unnamed activist issued threats of physical assaults and abuses to this correspondent and media in general for defending Ahmed Ali Syed and for “being in the pay of Nawaz Sharif”.

Representatives of both unions gathered in West London and decided that the PTI leadership in Pakistan will be requested to look into the “matter of high concern” and “take a strict public action against the goons involved in openly issuing insults and threats to media workers”.

Media representatives said that PTI events in the UK will not be attended unless the party leadership takes a strict action against the three activists and publicly sanctions them for their actions.

Journalists resolved that in future intolerant and abusive behaviour of no religious or political party will be tolerated and any group involved in harassment of media workers will be boycotted. Journalists said that it will be responsibility of the event organisers to arrange security of media and in the event of an attack on any journalist – whether verbal or physical - the concerned political party will be held responsible.

Those who attended the meeting included senior representatives from PJA and PPC namely Wajahat Ali Khan, Moebeen Chaudhary, Shaukat Dar, Ahmed Ali Syed, Fayaz Ghaffur, Atta-ul-Haq, Nasim Siddiqui, Aamir Ghauri, Ghulam Hussain Awan, Inaam Sehgal, Wadood Mushtaq, Chaudhary Akram, Musarrat Iqbal, Waqar Zaidi and Irfan-ul-Haque.