ARIFWALA - The office-bearers of PML-N Youth Wing Qaboola chapter tendered en bloc resignations “what they called” in protest against the attitude and policies of the party’s Punjab Youth Wing leadership.

Addressing a press conference here the other day, former PML-N Youth Wing Pakpattan President Dr Mohammad Abdullah, Mubarik Ali Shakir and Dr Abdullah said that they were staunch workers of the party and had unflinching faith in the leadership of Mian Nawaz Sharif but protest against injustice and wrong policies was their right. They recalled that when PML-N Chief Nawaz Sharif was in exile and Musharraf was victimising the party leaders and workers it was Mian Ghulam Hussain Shahid who kept the party youth wing united and obeyed the party chief’s orders. “Alas, now turncoats and defectors are being nominated and have become front men while staunch and sincere workers are being marginalised,” they pointed out, adding that they had been serving the party for the last 25 years and were now being ‘deliberately’ sidelined by PML-N Punjab Youth Wing organiser MNA Abid Sher Ali and his companions.

The aggrieved leaders pointed out that those who left the party and ‘enjoyed’ Musharraf’s tenure had now become the ‘blu-eyed boys’ at the cost of those who rendered sacrifices and kept the party alive. They declared that they were sending their resignations to ‘their’ leader Mian Nawaz Sharif in protest against MNA Abid Sher Ali and his ‘cohorts’. We believe that Mian Ghulam Hussain Shahid deserve to be the leader of party district chapter as he has rendered numerous sacrifices for party and it is blatant injustice by not nominating him as head of the PML-N youth wing district chapter,” they argued.

Later, Haji Ahmad Saeed, Ch Mohammad Naeem and Mubarak Ali Shakir along with other body members including Tariq Javed and Rana Kamran resigned from their respective slots in front of media men. They also held a lunch in honour of the local media persons.