ISLAMABAD Pakistan was elected as Chairman of the Board of Governors of the International Atomic Energy Agency. According to a statement issued by the Foreign Office on Monday, Dr Ansar Parvez, who is the Chairman of Pakistan Atomic Energy Commission, would replace the Ambassador of Malaysia Dato Muhammad Shahrul Ikram Yaakob. The election, by consensus, will be for the year 2011-2012. Pakistan last served as Chairman of the IAEA Board in 1962-63 and 1986-87. The 35-member Board is the executive arm of the IAEA. It is the highest policy-making organ of the Agency. Pakistans election by a consensus is an acknowledgement of the positive advances it has made in the nuclear field. It is also a recognition of its active role in the Agency. The Board will be dealing with a string of important issues this year. These include the Medium Term Strategy for 2012-2017, the Technical Cooperation Fund targets for the biennium 2012-2013 and the regular budget of the Agency. Pakistans candidature has been unanimously endorsed by the Middle East and South Asia Group to which Pakistan belongs. It was unanimously approved by the Board on Monday.