As many as 1,763 prospective candidates have filed their nomination papers for 325 union councils in Hafizabad, 114 in Pindi Bhattian, 67 in Sukheke and 62 Jalalpur Bhattian municipal committees with 10 Returning Officers till last midnight.

According to officials source, the district has been bifurcated into one district council, four municipal committees and 94 wards. There will be 49 wards in Hafizabad, 19 in Pindi Bhattian, 11 in Jalalpur and 15 in Sukheke municipal committees. In Hafizabad MC there will be 49 general councillors, five women, two kisan/labour, one youth and three minority councillors. At union council level, there will be one chairman, one vice chairman, five general councillor, one labour/kisan and two women councillors. In district council level there will be one chairman, one vice chairman, 13 women, one each technocrat and youth, three labour/kisan and five minority councillors.

DCO Manzoor Qadir, District Officer (Coordination) Noman Hafeez, ADC Safeena Siddique, AC Hafizabad Umar Farooq Warraich, AC Pindi Bhattian Rai Yasir Bhatti and other district officers supervised the nomination papers submission process.  After scrutiny/hearing of objections etc. final list of candidates would be displayed on January 13.

According to the directives of the Election Commission and Punjab government, all possible steps are being taken to hold the local government elections in free, fair and transparent manner, DCO Mansoor Qadir said here.