QUETTA - Final phase of local bodies polls completed on Wednesday amid tight security measures in Balochistan.

According to the unofficial results, Dr Qaleemullah of PkMAP was elected Mayor Quetta Metropolitan Corporation and Mohammad Yunus of PML-N Deputy Mayor Quetta Municipal Corporation while the seats of chairman and deputy chairman district councils Quetta were secured by Naeem Bazai and Asmat Bazai respectively.

All Parties Democratic Alliance (APDA) and Watan Dost Jamhori Panel had also announced their candidates for the offices of mayor and deputy mayor, Quetta Metropolitan Corporation and chairman and vice chairman, District Council Quetta, respectively.

Earlier, the oath-taking of all the elected councilors against special women kissans, labourers and minorities seats under section 28 of Balochistan Local Government Act 2010 and Rule 56 Balochistan Local Government Election Rules 2013 was held at Metropolitan Corporation Hall.

Following the oath-taking the returning officer scrutinised the nomination papers and as many as 86 out of 87 members cast their votes for mayors, deputy mayors, chairmen and deputy chairmen.

After conclusion of the final phase of LB elections in Balochistan ruling coalition partners won majority of seats in Quetta and other parts of the province.

Strict arrangements were made during the final phase of LG polls and no untoward incident was reported from any part of the province during the elections.

Balochistan Home Minister Sarfaraz Bugti told media that the councilors’ turnout was high in the final phase and the government succeeded in maintaining peace.

“These elections will help in improving the law and order situation,” Bugti said.

Pashtoonkhwa Milli Awami Party (PkMAP), a coalition partner in Balochistan government, won the seat of Quetta city mayor.

Dr Qaleem secured 54 votes and his opponent Mohammad Qasim Achakzai of All Parties Democratic Alliance (APDA) got 14 votes.

For deputy mayor’s office, Younas Baloch got 56 votes and his opponent from APDA, Raza Wakeel, secured 56 votes.

Dr Qaleemullah and Younas Baloch were jointly supported by PkMAP, National Party, Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz, Pakistan People’s Party and Majlis-i-Wahdatul Muslimeen.

Qasim Achakai and Raza Wakeel were supported by APDA — an alliance of seven political and religious parties.

Insaf Panel’s candidate Khuda Buksh could manage only four votes.

Awami National Party (ANP) candidate Malik Naeem Bazai was elected as the district chairman of Quetta and Asmatullah of PkMAP as deputy district chairman.

Elsewhere in the province, PML-N, NP, PkMAP and Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam Fazl reflected a stronger position. PML-N secured the seat of chairman and deputy chairman in resource-rich Dera Bugti district for the first time. Ghulam Nabi Shambani was elected as chairman and Shah Murad Masoori Bugti as deputy chairman of the district.

PPP secured the seat of district chairman Barkhan with Amir Mohammad Khetran as its candidate. Sultan Sherani of PkMAP managed to win the elections for chairman of Sherani district.

The Balochistan National Party – Mengal — a nationalist group — also secured some seats in Baloch dominated areas.

Sardar Akbar Sheikh was elected as chairman of Lasbela District and Qadir Bakhsh as vice chairman unchallenged.

Nawabzada Mir and Aurangzeb Alamgir Magsi also secured unchallenged chairmanship of Jhal Magsi district whereas Safdar Ali Shah was elected vice chairman of the same.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) Mir Amjad Ali Khan Khoso was elected as chairman while Fahad Khan as vice chairman of the Suhbat Pur District Council.