ISLAMABAD The Special Economic Coordination meeting, chaired by Prime Minister Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani, has constituted a special committee, headed by the Finance Minister with the Finance Secretaries and experts of all the provinces as its members, to finalise the collection of GST reforms within two weeks. The Prime Minister, while elaborating upon the austerity measures adopted by the federal govt, requested all the provinces to follow the same in the wake of the prevailing economic situation. These measures included freezing of all the expenditures except salaries, to give preference to projects/schemes on which 70 per cent work has been completed and a stringent financial discipline in accordance with the allocation under the NFC Accord. The meeting was held in a cordial atmosphere and all the provinces agreed, in principle, to resolve all outstanding issues in a spirit of cooperation and consensus. The Prime Minister, in his opening remarks, emphasized upon adoption of the austerity measures in the larger national interest. The purpose of the meeting, he said, is to apprise the provincial governments of their added financial responsibility after the 18th Amendment and the NFC Award. Earlier, the Minister for Finance briefed the meeting on the current economic situation of the country as well as national and international obligations. He mentioned that in wake of the economic situation, decisions would have to be taken in consultation with the Provinces since they have become major economic players in the national economic management after the passage of 18th Amendment Act as well as the NFC Award. The Secretary Finance briefed the participants on the overall economic scenario including challenges and possible solutions. A presentation was also made on the collection of GST Reform in accordance with the views of all the Provincial Governments. The meeting was attended by the Minister for Finance, Dr. Abdul Hafeez Shaikh, Chief Minister Punjab, Mian Muhammad Shabaz Sharif, Chief Minister Sindh, Syed Qaim Ali Shah, Chief Minister Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KPK), Mr Ameer Haider Khan Hoti, Chief Minister Balochistan, Nawab Muhammad Aslam Raeesani, Minister for Finance Punjab, Tanvir Ashraf Kaira, Minister for Finance Sindh, Syed Murad Ali Shah, Minister for Finance KPK, Humayun Khan, Minister for Finance Balochistan, Asim Kurd, Federal Secretary Finance, Chief Secretary Punjab, Provincial Finance Secretaries and other senior officers.