Khawaja Asif remains winner after recount

2018-07-29T15:49:00+05:00 Web Desk

SIALKOT: After a recount, Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) leader Khawaja Asif remained victorious in the electoral battle against Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leader Usman Dar in NA-73, Sialkot.

Usman Dar, who lost the election to the former foreign minister, requested the returning officer for the recount of votes.

The RO, however, turned down his request for recounting the complete votes and allowed a recount of only 7,300 rejected votes and 174 postal ballots of 15 polling stations.

After the recount, Asif remained winner with an increase of 45 votes cast in his favour while the PTI candidate’s votes increased by 132, slightly changing a margin of over 1400.

The PML-N candidate secured 117, 002 votes while the PTI candidate's count was 115,596, losing the seat by a margin of mere 1406 votes. The initial vote difference was 1493 votes. 

View More News