LAHORE - Engineer Mohsin M Syed and Engineer Dr Rana Abdul Jabbar have taken charge as newly elected president and honorary general secretary respectively of the Institution of Electrical & Electronics Engineers Pakistan (IEEEP) for the term 2014-16.

They took their responsibilities in a handing/taking over ceremony organised by the IEEEP. Other new office bearers included Engr Suleman Najeeb Khan (vice president), Engr Tahir Saleem (vice president South), Engr. Kamran Masood Khan (honorary treasurer) and Engr M Anwar Qaseem Qureshi (honorary joint secretary).The new Central Council of the IEEEP for the term 2014-16 comprising of 33 members also took their new charge.

In the welcome address, the outgoing President IEEEP Engr. Tahir Basharat Cheema highlighted the performance of the institution during the last term. He said that the institution had played a pivotal role in enhancing and projecting the cause of the engineering community and dissemination of technical knowledge among professional engineers. The outgoing honorary secretary general Engr Prof Dr Suhail Aftab Qureshi presented the annual report before the newly elected Central Council of the institution.

Addressing the ceremony, the incoming president IEEEP Engr. Mohsin M. Syed lauded the role of the previous council viz-a-viz welfare, education and betterment of the engineering community engaged in different disciplines of engineering throughout the country.

He assured that all out efforts would be made for further enchasing the academic activities and guiding role of the institution to help engineering community of the country. He hoped that the engineers would put in their best skills and knowledge to cope with the current energy shortage situation in the country and overcome the menace of the loadshedding. Later on, shields were presented to the outgoing office bearers of the institution as a token of appreciation of their services during their term in the office.