HAFIZABAD - More than 25 office-bearers of the PPP and PYO have resigned from the primary membership of the party in protest against the attitude of the party high command towards old and loyal workers while awarding party tickets. They have particularly expressed their resentment over the award of PPP ticket from PP-105 to Khizar Hayat Mangat, who has never been party member and termed it disgrace for the old and diehard party workers.

Those who sent their resignation to Faryal Talpur included PPP City President Ch Zulifqar Ali Chand Bhoon, Tehsil Vice President Malik Jawad Ashraf Awan and old PPP Leader Ch Bashir Ahmad Gujjar.

PYO District President Hafiz Abdul Rehman Jarral and 21 other office-bearers including Irfan Wance, Muhammad Afzal, Imran Ashgar, Rai Naveed, Haji Nazir, Bilal Sarwar, Rana Ghulam Mustafa, Ghulam Abbas Joya, Talib Bloch, Muhammad Ashraf, Lal Din, Abbas Chadhar, Riaz Butt, Khawar Bhatti, Muhammad Shahbaz, Sohail Abbas, Hafiz Muhammad Azeem, Rana Aurangzeb, Nasir Hussain, Rana Sajid and Shakeel Ahmad.

According to insiders, the alliance between the PPP and PML-Q, like other districts, have triggered infightings and bust-ups in the rank and file of both the parties and have caused dent in the district. One of the most powerful groups (Ch Mehdi Hassan Bhatti, President District PML (Q)) has also disheartened over the situation. Though his group’s prospective candidates are going to file their nomination papers on Friday (today) yet his group is still in fix to contest elections independently or to switch over to other party.

Over one hundred prospective candidates has obtained nomination papers from the Returning Officers and so far outgoing MNA Saira Afzal Tarar and Malik Fayyaz Ahmad Awan of the PML-N have filed their nomination papers from NA-102 and PP-105 respectively. PPP ticket holder Khizar Hayat Mangat, All Pakistan Muslim League Candidate Malik Atiqur Rehman, Syed Wasimul Hassan Naqvi of Sunni Ittehad Council, Iftikhar Ahmad Ansari (Independent) have filed their nomination papers to contest elections from PP-105, Rai Qamaruz Zaman Kharal of PTI has filed his nomination paper to contest election from PP-106 and Rai Fayyaz Kharal of PPP has filed his nomination papers to contest election from PP-105 and NA-102.