KARACHI - Ali Suria shocked several top players to win the singles title in the Second PTBF National Ranking Tenpin Bowling Championship 2013 here at the Arena Bowling Centre on Monday.

Ali, 22, produced an outstanding performance at the dying stage of the match as he came from behind to win the title with 928 points. Ali’s city-mate Shabbir Lashkarwala finished second just three points behind while Zafar Iqbal of Islamabad secured third position with 883 points. Karachi players dominated the championship by winning all three titles of singles, doubles and four-team’s event.

Poor state of playing surface cost Islamabad bowlers dearly, as the pre-tournament favourites failed to win even a single final, despite managing to reach finals of three categories.

In the doubles event, another upset was witnessed as top seeds Shabbir and Usman failed to grab even runners-up slot and had to content with third position. The title was grabbed by unseeded brothers’ duo of Farhan/Fazil Maniya who scored 734 pins while runners-up slot went to Ali and Sajjad who got 708 pins and Shabbir and Usman scored 658 pins to secure third position.

In the team event, a nerve-wrecking final was witnessed between teams of Shabbir, Usman, Aleem, Naseem and Ijaz, Chatha, Zafar, Faisal. Both the teams fought till the last pin. Zafar’s costly miss proved to be the title decider, as Shabbir team won the title by securing 1,372 pins. Ijaz team had to settle with second slot with total of 1,361 pins while the third position went to Sajid, Aqeel, Farhan, Babu team who scored 1,322 pins.

Media category title was won by APP team consisting of Ehsan, Saeed, Ameer, Shiraz who scored 371 pins, followed by News 1 team Asif, Badi, Imran, Osama with 343 pins and third place was bagged by SJAS team consisting of Mohsin, Rashid, Ubaid, Rehana who scored 323 pins.

Virtual Axis CEO Kh Ahmed Mustaqeem, Pakistan Tenpin Bowling Federation (PTBF) secretary Ijazur Rehman and Nadeem Yasin distributed cash prizes among the winners.

Ali Suria got the cash prize of Rs 100,000 with wooden pin trophy. Shabbir Lashkarwala collected runners-up trophy and Rs 50,000 and Zafar Iqbal received Rs 25,000 for winning third spot. Cash prizes ranging Rs 2000 to 25,000 were also distributed among the doubles and four team category and amateur players.

The grand closing ceremony was marked in a grand style as the names of three players Shabbir Lashkarwala, Zafar Iqbal and Ali Suriya who will represent the country in Saudi event and their tickets will be borne by the PTBF and title sponsors Virtual Axis.

Speaking at the occasion, Ijaz congratulated Virtual Axis for putting up a great show and said this event had given federation at least six fresh top level players, who could prove future asset for the country.

“The federation will continue to provide the players all the basic and necessary facilities it can manage for them to groom them at national and international level,” Ijaz concluded.