LAHORE - In what appears to be a novel idea to keep oneself posted about what’s happening in an organisation, PPP’s central Punjab President Mian Manzoor Ahmad Wattoo has introduced a system of watchdogs to spy on the activities of party cadres working under him.

Wattoo unfolded this scheme at a party meeting he chaired at Model Town here.

Comprising senior party men, the watchdogs would monitor and evaluate the performance of district organisations and report back to the President.

This arrangement has been made for seven Punjab districts including Lahore.

The conduct of district office-bearers would come under scrutiny of the watchdogs named as Monitoring Committees.

Senior most party men from the districts have been picked up as their heads.  

As per details, Tasneem Ahmed Qureshi would act as convener of the Monitoring Committee constituted for Okara district while the members include Abdul Qadir Shaheen and Asif Khan.

Tasneem Qureshi and Qadir Shaheen don’t belong to this district.

The responsibility to monitor Lahore organisation has been entrusted to Haji Aziz-ur-Rehman Chann who would be assisted in his duties by Mian Ayub and Tariq Shabbir Mayo.

Party sources, however, state that only a part of Lahore comprising the National Assembly constituencies of NA-127, 128 and 129 would come under the jurisdiction of Chann for the purpose.  

Similarly, Raja Imran Ashraf has been nominated as convener for Rawalpindi district whereas Shahjehan Sarfraz Raja and Qazi Sultan would be working under him as members.

Nadeem Afzal Chann would be heading the committee for Sargodha district with Manzoor Khan Bhatti and Nisar Ahmed Razi as members. Afzal Chann belongs to Mandi Bahauddin.

Faisalabad district would come under the jurisdiction of Mehar Ghulam Farid Kathia alongwith Qazi Ali Hassan and Zulfiqar Ahmed Zulfi.

Tahir Akhtar has been picked up as convener for Mandi Bahuddin with Fakhar Pagganwala and Chaudhry Tariq Gujjar as members.

The task to monitor the performance of Sheikhupura organisation has been entrusted to Malik Nawab Sher Waseer while Rai Shahjehan Bhatti and Chaudhry Amjad Meyo would assist him.