HARARE - Afghanistan won yet another cracker and lifted the Twenty20 International series trophy as well after winning the One-Day International (ODI) series by 3-2.

Afghanistan got their first breakthrough as Chamu Chibhabha got out for duck in the very first over. The other opener Sikandar Raza also could not play as well as the last two encounters as he departed making 21 off 13. Sean Williams drifted the run rate with his 26 ball 54 to help Zimbabwe on their way to a good total. Richmond Mutumbami also scored a good 43 but wickets kept falling, thanks to Afghan bowlers. Zimbabwe set up a target of 191 for Afghanistan at the end of their innings. Dawlat Zadran looked in his usual form with the ball taking two wickets for 24 runs.

The Afghanistan innings started off in an unusual way today as regular hard hitter Mohammad Shahzad kept rotating strike for an in sync Usman Ghani. Ghani scored 65 off 45, a knock that included 6 fours and 3 sixes in it. But the one who held the entire innings together is Gulbadin Naib. Naib remained unbeaten for 56 runs as he steered the victory in Afghanistan’s way at a point when his side was losing wickets in quick succession. Most of their wickets being run-outs, Chamu Chibhabha became Zimbabwe’s leading wicket taker with his two wickets for 37 runs in his four overs. Naib became the man of the Man of the Match for his heroic knock that acted as the key element in Afghanistan’s brave win over the hosts.

The entire tour has proved to be beneficial for the visiting Afghanistan team as they have won both the series, which will surely boost their mind up with confidence prior to the upcoming mega event of ICC World T20 in 2016. On the other hand, Zimbabwe will have to shrug off and start afresh picking up the positives from the series.



CJ Chibhabha b Dawlat Zadran 0

Sikandar Raza c & b Gulbadin Naib 21

SC Williams c Shafiqullah b Rashid 54

R Mutumbami lbw b Amir Hamza 43

E Chigumbura c Najibullah b Amir Hamza 33

CR Ervine c Gulbadin b Dawlat Zadran 4

MN Waller c Shafiqullah b Gulbadin 12

N Madziva not out 11

WP Masakadza not out 4

EXTRAS: (b 1, lb 2, w 1, nb 4) 8

TOTAL: (7 wickets; 20 overs) 190

FOW: 1-0, 2-30, 3-85, 4-145, 5-157, 6-166, 7-178.

BOWLING: Dawlat Zadran 4-1-24-2, Gulbadin Naib 3-0-40-2, Rashid Khan 4-0-52-1, Karim Sadiq 1-0-16-0, Amir Hamza 4-0-26-2, M Nabi 4-0-29-0.


M Shahzad lbw b Chibhabha 24

Usman Ghani c Madziva b Chibhabha 65

Gulbadin Naib not out 56

M Nabi run out 15

Najibullah Zadran b Muzarabani 2

Karim Sadiq run out 11

Shafiqullah not out 7

EXTRAS: (lb 4, w 6, nb 1) 11

TOTAL: (5 wickets; 19.5 overs) 191

FOW: 1-95, 2-95, 3-133, 4-146, 5-182.

BOWLING: CB Mpofu 3.5-0-44-0, T Muzarabani 4-0-32-1, N Madziva 3-0-35-0, WP Masakadza 1-0-12-0, SC Williams 4-0-27-0, CJ Chibhabha 4-0-37-2.

TOSS: Zimbabwe

UMPIRES: L Rusere and RB Tiffin