ISLAMABAD - Pakistan No 1 golfer M Shabbir Iqbal of Islamabad Golf Club won the professional category of President of Pakistan Gold Medal Golf Championship 2015 here at Islamabad Golf Club on Wednesday.

Shabbir survived close scare from M Munir, who fell short by just two points on the final day of the mega event. Shabbir entered the last day enjoying comfortable lead and was all set to retain title, but Munir had other ideas in store, and made the event royal battle. But in the end, Shabbir managed to hold onto nerves and won the title on last hole, he would be awarded 35 percent of total prize money and a gold medal.

Shabbir carded an eagle on hole 18 defeating close contender M Munir by two strokes. Shabbir finished with gross 203 (-13) over three days while Munir was runner-up with gross 205 (-11). There was a three-way tie for third place between Talib Hussain from CDA, Sajjad Khan and M Tariq, scoring gross 217 (+1) each.

The second gold medal on offer for amateurs net was won by former first class cricketer Gulraiz Shahid of IGC after scoring toal gross 193 and total net 180, followed by M Rehman in second with total gross 195 and total net 187, while third position went to M Umer Khokhar who scored total gross 203 and total net 188.

Rimsha Ejaz captured ladies gold medal, who carded a net 143 over two days, while Saima Ejaz was runner-up with a net 147 and Zeenat Ayesha was third with a net of 148. Annia Farooq won the ladies gross title.

Imad Hussain with (151) over 2 days won the senior professionals title, while M Iqbal and Shaoukat Ali remained second and third with total of 152 each. In the senior amateurs category played over 9 holes, Malik Afsar emerged victorious with a gross 39 and net 34, while Jamil Ahmed carded a gross 42 and net 35 and Brig Arshad Abbasi was third with net 36.

Introduced for the very first time, junior professionals’ category was played over two days with Adnan emerging victorious, as he carded a gross 165 over two days while Zubair was runner-up with gross 167 and Syed Bilal was third with a gross 168. Major Najam won the amateurs net category, played over 9 holes, with a gross score of 41 and net 33, MK Durrani was runner-up scoring gross 42 and net 35, while Kashif Qayyum was third with a gross 45 and net 36.

The sports journalists’ category event, which was played over 4 holes, was won by Nauman Maqsood of Channel 24, followed by Abdul Mohi Shah of The News (second) and Mohsin Ali of The Nation (third). A total of 20 Rawalpindi Islamabad Sports Journalists Association (RISJA) members along with other sports journalists participated in the event. It was four-way battle for the second and third spot, as Nauman was clear cut winner after clearing four holes in 11 attempts, while Mohi Shah, Abdul Qadir, Zulfiqar Baig and Mohsin Ali managed to clear same in 12 attempts.

Mohi Shah grabbed second spot after clearing two holes in 4 attempts, while Abdul Qadir and Mohsin made it in 5 attempts. Zulfiqar was ousted as he required 7 attempts. Mohsin was trailing Qadir, who made huge blunder, with ball was at the brink and he missed put. Mohsin grabbed the opportunity with both hands, thus took third spot.

The mega prize distribution ceremony would be held as soon as President Mamnoon Hussain confirmed his availability, while once again nobody could win the mega brand new car, which was offered on hole in one.