LAHORE – Mustafa Hanif and Faizan Ali batted Abbottabad to three-wicket victory over Quetta to clinch the PCB-PEPSI U-16 Cricket Tournament title here at the Gaddafi Stadium on Thursday.

Batting first, Quetta were bundled out for 125 runs all out in 36.4 overs. Mir Saeed made 24 with two fours while Mukhtar Ahmed made 20. Man of the Match, Faizan Ali bowled superbly throughout the tournament and also claimed claimed 4/39 in final while Khalid Kail grabbed 3/18.

Abbottabad achieved the target in 41.3 after loosing 7 wickets. Mazhar Fareed played brilliant innings of 39 runs off 69 balls laced with six fours. Mustafa Hanif remained unbeaten with 32 runs off 61 balls with the help of two fours and was ably assisted by Faizan Ali scored 20 runs not out laced with three fours.

Mir Saeed Ullah bowled well for the losers grabbing three wickets for 30 runs and Zain Ullah two for 11 but they could not help their team to face defeat.

Abbottabad team received Rs 200,000 winning bonus while the runners-up Quetta earned Rs 100,000. Faizan Ali of Abbottabad (4-29) was declared the man of the final match and got Rs 10,00 while the best batsman Zawan Hikmat Ullah of Peshawar (296 runs), the best bowler Faizan Ali of Abbottabad (20 wickets), the best fielder Khalid Kail of Abbottabad (five catches0, the best wicketkeeper Raheel Meo of Hyderabad received Rs10,000 each and trophies.

Summarised scores:

Quetta U-16: 125 in 36.4 overs (Mir Saeed Ullah 24, Mukhtar Ahmed 20, Faizan Ali 4-39, Khalid Kail 3-18).

Abbottabad U-16: 127-7 in 41.3 overs (Mazhar Fareed 39, Mustafa Hanif 32*, Faizan Ali 20*, Mir Saeed Ullah 3-30, Zain Ullah 2-11).