LAHORE - The Journalist Panel remained dominant by bagging six out of eight Governing Body seats in the Lahore Press Club Election on Monday. Election Commission headed by Mian Fayyaz announced the result of all candidates of Governing Body (GB) seats at 12:15am. However, the vote count was continuing for other seats till filing of this report. The Journalist Panel fielded eight candidates Afzal Ahmad, Imran Sheikh, Rizwan Khalid, Qamar Zaman Bhatti, Shoaib Aziz, Farooq Majeed, Haneef Asim and Marwa Ansar for GB seats but except of Farooq Majeed, Haneef Asim, all of them were declared successful. However, Embreen Fatima and Furqan Elahi of Progressive Penal were also declared successful.

Marwa topped the winners with 658 votes, followed by Qamar Bhatti with 631, Shoaib 591, Imran Sheikh 574, Ambreen Fatima 531, Afzal Ahmad 483 and Furqan with 467 votes. Polling started at 10:00am – one hour late from its scheduled time of 9:00 am due to bad weather and continued till 7:00pm at Alhamra.

As the polling ended on its scheduled time, the election commission started counting which continued till late night.

The total eligible voters were about 1700 out of which almost 1450 voters exercised their power of vote.

On the slot of vice-president, a very tough competition was observed between the two candidates-Nadeem Basra from Journalist  Panel and Chaudhary Zulfiqar Ali from Progressive Penal. There were two candidates who contested elections on the seat of Secretary; Zahid Abid from Progressive Penal and Afzal Talib from Journalist Group and same competition was also observed between two of them. On the seat of Finance Secretary, there were two candidates; Shadab Riaz from the panel and Amjad Usmani from Progressive.

 The supporters of both sides, all the day, were witnessed campaigning in spite of cold weather. Holding posters, stickers, pamphlets and handbills of contesting candidates, they were seen attracting maximum voters with their traditional way.

Surprisingly, some of the candidates were seen violating the rules set by Election Commission as they had displayed big posters and banners to attract the voters outside the polling station.