ISLAMABAD - Asif Memorial Club clinched the ICA T20 Cricket Tournament 2015 title after thumping Essco Club by 45 runs in the final played here at Diamond Ground on Tuesday.

It was the second title, which Asif Memorial Club lifted this month, as earlier, they had won the prestigious NBP-ICA Cricket League 2015 title after defeating Eleven-Star Club.

In the final, talented all-rounder Ali Imran made a huge impression both with willow and leather to help Asif Memorial down Essco Club. Wicketkeeper batsman Salman Haider hit 43-ball 67 and Junaid Nadir returned with 57 off 31 balls to help Asif Memorial post highly daunting total of 206-6. Essco Club, in reply, were bowled out for 161 in 19.4 overs. Ahmed Sohail (38) and Umer Kiani (34) tried to give a befitting reply, but Essco’s rest of the lot failed to rise on the occasion.

“Our boys played tremendous cricket with capping two crowns this month,” said Asif Memorial Club founder president Syed Abrar Rizvi, who remembered his late son Asif at this time when the club made big stride. Asif Memorial coach Hassaan Asghar put in his best efforts and introduced a winning combination. He felt pride on his team’s successes and gave all credit to boys for their remarkable performances.

A lucrative prize distribution ceremony was held where PCB Cricket Committee chairman Shakil Shaikh was the chief guest while ICA president Nasir Iqbal, RISJA president Mohsin Ali, RISJA chairman Abdul Mohi Shah, ICA Cricket Committee chairman Abrar Rizvis, North Zone secretary Shabbir Ahmed and others were also present on the occasion.

Mohsin Ali and Mohi Shah gave away winning trophy of ICA T20 Tournament to captain Asif Memorial Club Raheel Majeed and runners-up trophy to captain Essco Club Munirur Rehman Tanzil. Salman Haideer (Asif Memorial) was declared best batsman, Samiullah Mehsud (Asif Memorial) was named best bowler, Sarmad Bhatti (Punjab) best all-rounder, Salman Haider (Asif memorial) best wicketkeeper and Ali Imran (Asif Memorial) man of the final match. Shakil Shaikh gave away winning trophy of NBP-ICA League and Rs 45,000 cash to captain Asif Memorial Club Raheel Majeed and runners-up trophy and Rs 35,000 to Eleven-Star Club skipper Naeem Anjum. ICA president Nasir Iqbal gave away souvenir to RISJA president Mohsin Ali. Shakil Shaikh announced that a function would be held soon to decorate Pakistan’s ace all-rounder Syed Imad Wasim with a gold medal. He said Islamabad Region and ICA would continue their efforts of promoting grassroots cricket and bringing up talent in this part of the country.