Islamabad: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) directed on Monday the recounting of votes in 26 national and provincial constituencies.

Several candidates had objected to the results of their election after the July 25 polls and had appealed to the ECP to order a vote recount.

The recount of several other constituencies is already underway after losing appealed to the returning offices. The recounting of former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi constituency would also conduct.

The other constituencies including NA-57 (Murree), NA-158 (Multan), NA-110 (Faisalabad), NA-129 (Lahore), NA-15 (Abbottabad), NA-10 (Shangla), NA-159, NA-170 (Bahawalpur), NA-118 (Nankana Sahib), NA-140 (Kasur), PP-220 (Multan) and DG Khan district’s PP-291, PP-290, and PP-292, PP-6, PS 73 Badeen, PP-228 Lodhara, PK-85 Karak, PK-65 Noshara, PK-39 Abbottabad, PP-185 Okara, PP-27 Jhelum, PP-219 Multan, PP-256 Rahim Yar Khan and others provincial constituencies.

Former prime minister and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) Shahid Khaqan Abbasi was defeated by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Sadaqat Abbasi in NA-57 (Murree).

In NA-158, former premier and Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) leader Yousaf Raza Gilani was defeated by the PTI's candidate. In NA-129, PML-N leader Ayaz Sadiq had defeated PTI's Aleem Khan.

In NA-15, PML-N's Murtaza Javed Abbasi, the deputy speaker of the NA, had defeated PTI's Ali Asghar Khan.